Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Childhood Craving

My job requires coverage from 7am – 7pm Monday through Friday and 8am – 3pm on Saturday.

Luckily, we have enough people on our team that we each only work one evening shift and the same people typically work Saturdays – but one of the girls is getting married this Saturday (a good reason for a day off!) and I’m covering her shift.

Picking up the Saturday shift meant taking off a day during the week – so I chose Tuesday, the same day my hubby is off work.

We spent the entire day working on our new house – laying down hardwood floor and painting.  Before we got there though, we stopped at the brand new Trader Joe’s location which is close to the house!  I was pumped – and Tweeted about it!

I found some new TJ’s addictions – sorry for the quick random photos.  Their reduced guilt tortilla chips are fabulous, and this salsa my husband selected might be my new favorite (garlic chipolte).

image

We also snacked on these guys all day – he argued that they are fruit (even if they’re fried and covered in sugar).

image

We literally ate that stuff all day long – making it our lunch (but don’t worry, we had my healthy baked oatmeal for breakfast).

When dinner rolled around I had a craving for hot dogs.  Yes, as a vegetarian (you can read why here) I know that’s a weird one.  I think it has something to do with walking past a 7-11 store in town everyday and smelling them cooking as I head home from work (when I’m hungry in the first place).  Luckily, TJ’s had Smart Dogs so I picked up a package.

image

I prefer the “Good Dog” brand, but these do the trick once in a while too!

Ever since finding THIS recipe on Pinterest, I’ve had it on my dinner agenda.  It was the perfect pairing with my veggie dogs.

image

I didn’t have any cheddar on hand so I made due with a mixture of gorgonzola, beemster (have you tried this?!  it’s like pure butter!), and gruyere.  I like to think the fancier cheeses make the meal a bit more grown up!

image

Cooking the noodles in milk instead of water replaces the butter and makes them incredibly creamy before you even add the cheese.  Why didn’t someone think of this before?

image

After the entire day of snacking, this simple dinner was a real meal – and just right.  Let’s pretend I had a big dish of steamed broccoli on the side too, okay?

image

Do you ever get a craving for a simple meal from your childhood?

Vegetarians – do you ever crave meat products?

17 responses to “Childhood Craving

  1. sprint2thetable November 17, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    That Mac and cheese looks awesome! (Isn’t Pinterest the best?!) I crave childhood treats even more in the winter… grilled PB&J, spaghetti… even frozen pizza with apple slices on the side!

  2. Melissa November 17, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    Sometimes all I want is grilled cheese and tomato soup–kid version. White bread, American cheese, Campbells. I like the grown up kind with good bread and fancy cheese, too, but sometimes an old favorite hits the spot!

  3. Annette@EnjoyYourHealthyLife November 17, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    oh that mac and cheese looks awesome! I LOVE Grueyere….sooo tasty!

  4. Pamela November 17, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    Yum! Macaroni & Cheese has been my favorite food since I was a kid. I will have to add this to my list of recipes I need to make soon! 🙂 I have found so many great recipe ideas on Pinterest, too! It’s great!

  5. peaceloveandoats November 17, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    Those noodles look so good! My best friend used to make some amazing Mac n Cheese in high school with fancy cheeses. I tried to re-create it and it was a disaster! Haha

  6. Claire @ livingspreethegoodlife November 17, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    This is kinda strange, but I love pb&j with corn or tortilla chips on it.

    I also remember eating cream corn, which I haven’t had in forever but can still imagine the taste lol

  7. allieksmith November 18, 2011 at 12:03 am

    Mmmm.. I crave pb&j daily!!! Yay for TJ’s! Where is the new location going to be?!

  8. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate November 18, 2011 at 12:40 am

    I ALWAYS crave a good grilled cheese. Mmm…

  9. kristina@beancakes ✭ November 18, 2011 at 1:28 am

    hi claire! i love trader joe’s!! i don’t know what i’d do without one nearby ~ those banana chips are always in my pantry ~ one thing that i always loved eating as a child was campbell’s ABC soup!! 😉 😉
    xx ~ kristina
    p.s. thanks for your sweet comment today!!

  10. Pingback: Friday 5 « Live and Love to Eat

  11. erica @ fashionmeetsfood.com November 20, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    How good does that mac and cheese look! I just discovered your blog and I am now your newest follower! xo

  12. meesch November 22, 2011 at 3:14 am

    I LOVE Smart Dogs! You have a wonderful site by the way = )

    -meesch
    http://www.aperfectkindofday.com

  13. Pingback: Five Food Friday « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

