Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Friday 5

Happy Friday!  I’m totally on the bandwagon with this Friday favorites concept.

1) Incredible sale at Kohl’s (right, Janetha?)!  I’ve been wanting black shoes for working out (spin class, etc) – they’re not super high quality and not good for running (if I ever get past 1 mile without pain), but I’ve been looking at them since they were more than $60.  I got them on sale for $24.99 plus 45% off total – making them around $14 total!  I should be a personal shopper.  Send me your money and I’ll find you great deals, too. 😉

image

2) Socca twist on this delicious quesadilla.  I made a rosemary socca base, with mushrooms, truffle oil, caramelized onions, gorgonzola, and veggie bacon.  I love thin crust pizzas and socca is a quick and easy variation on a pizza!

image

image

3) Pumpkin pie blizzard – perfect protein filled dessert after a hard spin class!

image

4) The fact that Trader Joe’s opened near our new house!  It meant brown rice sushi for lunch without having to venture out in to cold downtown Pittsburgh.

image

5) The ease of heating up a piece of my baked oatmeal every morning this week.  It took the decision making out of breakfast!  I think I’m ready for another pumpkin loaf.

image

This upcoming weekend…

I have to work tomorrow, just a short shift.  Afterward I’m heading to an event in Bakery Square (an outdoor shopping area) hosted by local restaurants and shops.  I won tickets from EatPGH and I’m taking my Mom as my date.  It should be fun!

Sunday, I might be meeting up with a few fellow Pittsburghers… I hope it works out! 🙂

Tell me something that you’re looking forward to this weekend!

27 responses to “Friday 5

  1. Amanda November 18, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    OH my gosh – I am crazy jealous of your Khol’s find! I can never find those kinds of deals there!
    And I am so excited to check out the new Trader Joe’s! I hear it’s much bigger than the one on Penn Avenue!

  2. sprint2thetable November 18, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Socca pizzas are the best! You can also make them into tacos. Ah, the power of chickpeas. 🙂

  3. Kelly @ Laughter, Strength, and Food November 18, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    I think I need to get to a Kohl’s right this second!!

  4. Lisa ♥ Healthful Sense November 18, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    Yay for TJ’s… I’m in that store just about every day!!

  5. Amanda @ Fashionably Plate November 18, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    I just posted a Friday 5 type post last night. (Well, I guess it was a Thursday 5) Such a fun concept!

  6. Kris November 18, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    Hello Pumpkin Pie Blizzard!! AMAZING!!!!!

    I’m looking forward to some snacking this weekend, this where I let my hair down and eat some dang chips!!!! LOL!!

    xxoo

  7. Kristen @ swanky dietitian November 18, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    I am loving your socca/quesadilla!!
    I’ve been on the hunt for a cheaper pair of workout shoes! Those are cute! And what a steal!

  8. Jamie @ Food in Real Life November 18, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    What a deal on those shoes! I’ve always heard great things about Kohls deals, but don’t have one near my house to capitalize. Yay for a local Trader Joe’s! If you need any reccomendations for must-have items, I can help you out! I love that place!

  9. janetha November 18, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    I can’t decide if Kohl’s is the devil or the angel…

  10. Sweet and Savvy November 18, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    I LOVE sales! 🙂 That is a great deal on the shoes!

  11. blogitness November 18, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Awesome deal on the shoes! I feel like I can never find anything good when I go there!

  12. Paige November 18, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    NICE work on scoring that Khol’s. Love me some Khol’s 🙂

  13. Baking Serendipity November 20, 2011 at 4:03 am

    Pumpkin pie blizzard sounds so good! And shoe sales are probably my favorite thing 🙂

  14. healthydivaeatskatie November 20, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    SO nice to meet you finally! You are so sweet and Im glad you could come today!

    I love the sneakers, what a deal! I need to get mike sneakers for xmas ; )

    I hope you enjoy the rest of Sunday and PLEASE lets do a meet up every month! xoxo

  15. Kirstie @ Musings of a Happy Life November 21, 2011 at 4:40 am

    YUM! That quesedilla looks amazing 🙂

    I’m looking forward to seeing Breaking Dawn this weekend. Late to the party I know!

  16. Kelly @ Foodie Fiasco November 21, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Wow, I’ve been poking around and you’ve got some great recipes! Thanks for posting!

  17. char on a mission November 21, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    Those oats are looking mighty tasty and have almost brought on my urge to start eating them again. I don’t know why I haven’t in so long – but toast has totally been winning lately.

  18. Healthy Coconut November 21, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    wow, you definitely know how to get a good deal. what a bargain on those shoes!

    I love Kohl’s because their items are reasonably priced. We got my husband’s linen wedding suit from there on clearance. We were so happy to find a really good bargain….something that is hard to do when planning a wedding.

  19. Julie at Burnt Carrots November 21, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Your quesadillas look fantastic!! I’ve been wanting to try a more savory recipe. And truffle oil on the pizza…. I’m seriously jealous!

  20. Pingback: Holiday Shopping Tips and Creamy Pasta Sauce « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

