Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Thanksgiving – Lightened Up

My pie crust was a success!  No butter, oil, or shortening added!

I used 1 cup of almond flour, 1 cup of dates (soaked in hot water and drained), 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 cup of oats.  Baked for 20 minutes until golden brown and delicious!

image

The cheesecake filling was based on IGE’s pumpkin cheesecake recipe.

image

It was absolutely worth the time it took to bake and cool completely.  I’ll be making this every Thanksgiving from now on.

image

The “main dish” that I made was a vegetarian stuffing with veggies, apples, figs, and Lightlife “sausage”.

image

image

image

I used half a loaf of light wheat bread (35 calories a slice) and only cooking spray to sauté the veggies.  Topped with some dried sage and rosemary, and held together with 2 whipped egg whites.

image

It was tough to find a vegetable stock!  I do like their trademark though – “live love eat”.  I had to buy this brand. 🙂

image

image

It turned out pretty well!  I wasn’t a fan of the crunchy seeds from the figs and would probably use raisins or another type of dried fruit in the future.

My favorite part of my vegetarian Thanksgiving was definitely my carrot souffle.  I make it based on a Cooking Light recipe, and it never fails.  It’s got a hint of sweetness to it that makes it almost good enough to be dessert.  I made it even lighter by subbing in Chobani greek yogurt where the recipe called for sour cream.

image

Carrot Souffle [based on this recipe]

2 lbs carrots, chopped and cooked until soft, cooled

1/4 cup Splenda Blend (or 1/2 cup sugar)

1/4 cup Chobani Plain Greek Yogurt, 0% fat

3 Tbsp AP flour

2 Tbsp light margarine, melted

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 cup egg substitute, beaten

1) Pre-heat oven to 350.

2) Puree carrots in food processor until smooth.

3) Add remaining ingredients & pulse to combine.

4) Spread mixture into greased baking dish and bake 40 minutes, until edges brown.

image

Approximate nutrition: (per half cup serving) 130 calories, 3.5 grams fat, 18 grams carbohydrate, 5 grams protein

image

The dessert spread: my mother in law’s Polish “cookies”, pecan pie, pumpkin pie, and my pumpkin cheesecake.

image

I’ve been enjoying stuffing and carrot souffle leftovers all weekend!

image

What was the star of your Turkey day meal?

Check out my post on holiday shopping to make the most of today’s Cyber Monday sales! 🙂

25 responses to “Thanksgiving – Lightened Up

  1. Kelly @ Laughter, Strength, and Food November 28, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    Yay! The carrot souffle recipe! I can’t wait to try it!

  2. Shanna, like Banana November 28, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    I”m pretty sure nothing was lightened up at our host’s house 😉 The sweet potatoes soaked in brown sugar and bourbon were to die for though!

  3. sprint2thetable November 28, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    That crust sounds great! Do you think the recipe would make enough for a standard sized pie crust?

    Your whole meal looks wonderful. Unfortunately mine wasn’t quite as healthy… the star was dessert. 🙂

    • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat November 28, 2011 at 5:39 pm

      I still need to check out your recap! 😉 And I think you might want to add 1/4 cup more of the flour and dates – mine just covered the bottom of the springform pan. I think it would work without it being exact – it’s all about the sticky consistency.

  4. Melissa November 28, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    Wow–that all looks awesome! Way to go lightening things up! I love Thanksgiving food, but I’m not loving how I’m feeling after a weekend of indulgence. Actually glad it was time to get back to a routine today!

  5. Liz @ Southern Charm November 28, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    Yum! These dishes look amazing!

    My favorite was my maw maw’s twice baked potatoes!

  6. teabagginit November 28, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    oh my goodness, that carrot souffle looks amazing! i bet it’d be good with pineapple chobani, too … like a carrot CAKE souffle!!! thanks for insipiring some more meals … yet again!

  7. Trainer Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life November 28, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    Yum! All your food looks seriously great and I’m so happy your pie crust worked out! I love how everything is lightened up!

  8. peaceloveandoats November 28, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    oh my goodness, a carrot souffle??? Haha that sounds good! The highlight of my Thanksgiving meal was probably my aunt’s roasted root vegetables, they were just perfect!

  9. Kris November 28, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    OH MY! This looks friggin amazing!!! I’ve never even heard of it before, but anything carrot I’m in love with!!

    xxoo

  10. Allie @ PickyEatingRD November 28, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    What a great crust idea! My Thanksgiving meal was pretty random since we were on vacation. We ended up having an Italian meal that was awesome but not your typical Thanksgiving by any means.

  11. Paige November 28, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    Carrot soufflé sounds great! Love that it’s not super common either 🙂

  12. Kristen @ Swanky Dietitian November 29, 2011 at 12:00 am

    That carrot souffle sounds delicious! I love that you added greek yogurt. Yum!

  13. Tessa @ Amazing Asset November 29, 2011 at 12:16 am

    Mm the carrot souffle sounds fantastic! I have always wanted to try making something like this… soon I shall 🙂

  14. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate November 29, 2011 at 12:48 am

    Our star was definitely the turkey 🙂

  15. healthycollegegirl November 29, 2011 at 2:43 am

    awesome ideas for healthier thanksgiving recipes!! i think the star of my meal was my boyfriend’s mom’s chestnut stuffing. it was sooo good!

  16. Pingback: Lightening Up: 2011 « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

