Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

WIAW – Florence (Day One)

Another Wednesday, another party with Jenn!

Peas and Crayons

Last week I left off with the five star breakfast we had outside of Venice (in small town called Mira).  Although we enjoyed every single amenity that the 5 star hotel offered, we chose to stay right in the center of the city of Florence – about a 2 minute walk from the famous “Duomo” cathedral, at the Hotel Dali

 

Florence was my city of the trip – the art, the shopping (from boutiques to street vendors) and of course, the food.

It was about a 2 hour drive and it took us forever to find our hotel – since it was in the center of the city (a “no driving” zone).  Once we finally got settled and took care of parking the car, the hotel’s owner recommended I Ghibellini, a restaurant that was just down the street.

It was a beautiful early fall evening, so we dined al fresco.  The house wine was my beverage of choice, of course.

We started with some amazing homemade bread – like herbed pizza dough from a brick oven, and I ordered a panzanella salad to start.

Adam had a really interesting salad of shaved zucchini, homemade mozzerella, and an herbed citrus dressing.  I don’t quite think he knew what he was ordering, but I really enjoyed it! 😉

For my entree, I ordered a primo and a vegetable side: sauteed, very garlic-y spinach…

And truffle pasta.  Probably the best pasta I ate the entire trip – perfectly fresh, with a flavor of olive oil balancing the strong, earthy truffles.  Simple and perfect.   

Adam had a “meat and potatoes” kind of meal – the restaurant’s signature pork chop and roasted potatoes.

We spent the rest of our evening Skyping with family from an internet cafe, browsing the busy streets and shops, people watching, and enjoying gelato for dessert.  Mint chocolate for me and panna cotta for my husband.  The panna cotta was always the best, but I wanted to try different flavors.

 I like re-capping our honeymoon this way – it’s great to relive each day (and each meal!).

Previous honeymoon WIAWs: Mile High Meals, Polish Wedding, home cooking in Poland, Bologna, Venice, Breakfast in Mira.  Still to come: Poznan (Poland), Florence (Day 2), and Rome.

31 responses to “WIAW – Florence (Day One)

  1. LizAshlee November 30, 2011 at 8:16 am

    It sounds like you’re having an amazing time and definitely enjoying the wonderful food!! Continue!! 🙂 Happy Wednesday!!!!

  2. Melanie @ Melanie Cooks November 30, 2011 at 8:18 am

    The salad with shaved zucchini surely sounds interesting! I’ve never had zucchini in salads, only in pastas and baked dishes.

  3. peaceloveandoats November 30, 2011 at 8:46 am

    I still have never tried gelato! Your post makes me want to change this immediately!

    • Claire @ Live & Love to Eat November 30, 2011 at 9:13 am

      Oh, so good. Check the ingredients though – you don’t want one with a ton of oil and additivies. True gelato has simple ingredients, it’s more dense (has less air whipped in) and more savory due to more egg yolks. Simply indulgent, like so many other Italian foods.

  4. sprint2thetable November 30, 2011 at 8:57 am

    I want to go back right NOW! Florence was our last stop and we had a blast – I even ran 6 miles through the city (and almost got lost… oops!).

    I miss my daily gelato…

  5. Annette@EnjoyYourHealthyLife November 30, 2011 at 9:04 am

    HOLY yumm! That all looks delicious! I think Italy is so pretty–what a fun place to go for a honeymoon!

  6. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic November 30, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Love the pics – makes me want to go back to Florence! I had truffled pasta there too and was inspired by it to make my own version here: http://www.confessionsofachocoholic.com/pasta/spaghetti-with-truffle-butter-and-mushrooms 🙂

  7. Lisa ♥ Healthful Sense November 30, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Ahhh such an amazing place w/ amazing food!
    I think it’s time for a 2nd honeymoon =)

  8. Shanna, like Banana November 30, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    Florence is oh so lovely! They have soooo many fabulous shoe shops…I am still kicking myself for not buying a fabulous pair of boots I was coveting while I was there.

  9. survivingcandyland November 30, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Totally jealous that you are in florence. One of my favorite cities of all time. The best place I ever ate there was called The Golden View. So amazing. Looks like you found some good eats though.

  10. Lisa @ Healthy Diaries November 30, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Hi! I found your blog through Jen’s WIAW! How fun that you’re on your honeymoon! I go to italy every summer to visit family so you’re totally making me miss it right now! I ‘ve never had a shaved zucchini salad, but it looks very good!

  11. Cat @Breakfast to Bed November 30, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    This looks truly unforgettable. Enjoy every minute!

  12. Trainer Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life November 30, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Wow, all that food looks amazing! It looks like you had so much fun on your honeymoon and what a great way to relive it! : )

  13. brokencookiesdontcount November 30, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Florence is an incredible city! Your food looks yummy, too!

  14. Kristen @ swanky dietitian November 30, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    Florence is one of my favorite places in Italy!!
    It is just amazing!!
    I ate so much gelato while there. Seeing yours reminds me of my trip! 🙂

  15. Beth @ a latte inspiration November 30, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    Truffle pasta sounds amazing! Ahh your honeymoon must have been fanastic… I’m living vicariously through you posts. 🙂

  16. Lele November 30, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Good to know about the panna cotta gelato 😀 Someday (I hope!) I’ll get to go to Italy… and eat gelato after every meal!

  17. teabagginit November 30, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    panna cotta gelato – that sounds like heaven!

  18. Kris December 1, 2011 at 12:10 am

    Mmm delish!! Ok, I wanna go anywhere where Vino is the bevy of choice! My kinda place and my kinda meal! You’re honeymoon has been a splendid journey for us as well 😉

    xxoo

  19. Jessica December 1, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Everything looks great! What an awesome experience!

  20. Pingback: Five Food Friday « Live and Love to Eat

  21. Pingback: Rome, Part 1 « Live and Love to Eat

  22. Pingback: Rome, Part 2 « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

