Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Five Food Friday

Some things I wanted to share but didn’t want to devote a whole post to.

1) Roasted spaghetti squash seeds

We didn’t carve a pumpkin this year, but everyone kept posting delicious looking seeds.  I kept these when I made my last spaghetti squash, and roasted them with a bit of maple syrup, cinnamon, ginger, and salt.  So good.

image

2) Sauteed Spinach

Spinach is probably my favorite green (sorry, kale lovers), and when it’s cooked with garlic, onion, truffle oil and topped with honey goat cheese, it’s game over.  I never share (still not as good as I had Florence).

image

3) Thai

As I told Colleen on her DOHmestic post, I wanted to cook Tuesday night but then was exhausted just thinking about shopping and planning and couldn’t go through with it.  The hubby and I got Thai instead.  I ordered all appetizers (even though their Pad Thai is my fav) – tofu spring rolls, vegetable skewers, and a salad.  This peanut sauce is to die for.

image

4) Pumpkin butter = heaven.  Honey goat cheese = sinfully delicious. Together, on toasted cinnamon raisin bread?  DO IT.

image

5) Valerie’s Cloud 9 Cookies

Her blog, Une Gamine dans la Cuisine, is always filled with incredibly tempting baked goods.  I lightened it up a bit – fewer chips, subbed out some of the butter – and mine turned out puffy and fudge-like.  I’d make her recipe exactly the next time.

image

What randomly delicious foods did you have this week?  Any foodie weekend plans?

26 responses to “Five Food Friday

  1. allieksmith December 2, 2011 at 9:17 am

    Spaghetti squash seeds sound awesome! I once roasted butternut squash seeds and they were pretty good.

  2. healthycollegegirl December 2, 2011 at 9:45 am

    oh my gosh there are SO many delicious combinations of food in this post i don’t even know where to begin lol i’m obsessed with goat cheese, but i would have NEVER thought to put it with pumpkin butter!! have to try that!

  3. Kelly @ Laughter, Strength, and Food December 2, 2011 at 9:54 am

    I am in love with pumpkin butter. I have a jar in my house year-round!

  4. Jamie @ Food in Real Life December 2, 2011 at 10:07 am

    Those pumpkin seeds look great! I’ve been meaning to get a spaghetti squash also. As far as the ginger- is it fresh or dried? How much do you use?

  5. Melissa December 2, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Pumpkin butter and honey goat cheese? Please bring me some of that! And I’ll take the cookies, too. You can send them over anytime! 😉

  6. Annette@EnjoyYourHealthyLife December 2, 2011 at 11:16 am

    OH I sure love pumpkin butter!!

    I’ve had a delicious sandwich this week : whole wheat ciabatta with mediterranean hummus, goat cheese, turkey, and spinach. DIVINE.

  7. sprint2thetable December 2, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    Roasted seeds are the best! I just did some with cinnamon and curry. I can’t stop eating them!

  8. spoonfulofsugarfree December 2, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    Love Love Love Love roasted seeds….sometimes even better than the squash itself!

  9. Tessa @ Amazing Asset December 2, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    roasted seeds are soo so good, they bring out the flavor quite well! And I found eggnog almonds at the TJs earlier this week= heaven 🙂

  10. char on a mission December 2, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    You’re making me hungry! And that’s funny you did a post about spaghetti squash seeds. Because I just roasted some spaghetti squash, but the left the seeds just incase I decided to use them…decision made…totally roasting them too!

  11. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate December 2, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Spinach is definitely my favorite green too. #sogood

  12. teabagginit December 2, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    i just tried tj’s cookie butter for the first time. seriously, get it now! so freaking good!

  13. blogitness December 3, 2011 at 9:26 am

    The spaghetti squash seeds look awesome, I’ve never thought of doing that! The spinach looks great as well!

  14. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate December 3, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Did you change your theme? Looks great!

  15. Katie@Real Food Katie's Way December 4, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    cinnamon toast with honey goat cheese and pumpkin butter? WHAT AN AWESOME combination!!!!

  16. Pingback: Lightened Up – Sweet and Savory Pumpkin Butter Crepes « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

