Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

What I Ate in Florence (day 2)

Another Wednesday, another party with Jenn!

Peas and Crayons

Ahh, Firenze.  Sorry if you’re sick of my honeymoon recap posts.  I’m not.  I have 2-3 more to do (Rome).  You can read the others here: Mile High Meals, Polish Wedding, home cooking in Poland, Bologna, Venice, Breakfast in Mira

Our second (full) day in Florence began as any morning in Italy should – with freshly baked pastries and cappuccino.

I can’t believe my husband got into coffee during our trip.  There’s nothing like it here.

For lunch, we ventured about 30 minutes from our hotel in search of Il Latini, a family owned restaurant that was recommended both by our hotel owner and my brother, who went last summer.

In all of the travel books, they tell you to “eat where the locals eat”.  This was definitely that kind of place.  They even dry their own proscuitto, which is supposed to be incredible.

Can you spot the meat?  No, not my lovely husband! 😉

The owner himself was our server, and had to borrow a worn menu from the neighboring table for us to look at as he served us half a loaf of fresh, crusty bread and told us about the house wine, made at a  local vineyard just for them.

As he explained in broken English – “drink as much wine as you like and that’s what we’ll charge you”.  Okay! 

It was one of the shortest menus we saw the entire trip – a few choices for each of the salad, primi, segundi, and pasta courses.  I started with the minestrone – better than any I’ve ever had in the states.

It might have been beef or chicken broth – being a smaller local restaurant, the communication was a bit of a struggle – but the soup was so delicious and full of veggies that I didn’t even care.

Adam ordered TWO courses of pastas – yep, that’s the man I married.  Starting with a classic bolognese.

Of course I didn’t taste it, but it looked delicious.  For our second course, we both ordered the fresh spinach ravioli, recommended by our waiter and seen at a LOT of neighboring tables.

I can’t even put in to words how fresh and light this tomato sauce tasted.  It was the perfect consistency, and balanced with the delicate homemade pasta that was neither under or overstuffed, I was in carb heaven.

If you want really good, classic, Tuscan food, Il Latini is the place to go in Florence!

We had a 5pm train to catch to Rome, but we grabbed one more caffeinated beverage to power us through the adventure of returning our rental car and finding the train station – double espresso for me and chocolate cappuccino for Adam.

We had to say “arrivederci” to Florence and their beautiful handmade leather goods.  No, Louis isn’t made in Florence, but everything is more beautiful there.

Next stop – Roma!

If you’ve been to Europe, what’s your favorite city?  If not, where would you want to visit first?

I’ve been to France, Spain, Poland, and now Italy twice, and Florence currently tops my list!  I’d like to see London or the Greek islands next!

25 responses to “What I Ate in Florence (day 2)

  1. sprint2thetable December 7, 2011 at 7:56 am

    This makes me want to go back ASAP!

    My favorite city… that’s tough! I think it’s Alba. Any city that smell like truffles and chocolate is a good one!

  2. LizAshlee December 7, 2011 at 9:08 am

    So fun to see all your photos! That’s funny your hubby got into coffee! Have a great day!! 🙂

  3. Leanne @ The Skinny Architect December 7, 2011 at 10:27 am

    I used to walk past Louis everyday when I lived in Florence. And Farragamo, and Gucci, and, well, all of the beautiful things I can’t afford. I love reading your Italy posts, it makes me miss it (but in a good way)!

  4. brokencookiesdontcount December 7, 2011 at 11:37 am

    I am SO jealous! I loved Florence!

  5. Lisa ♥ Healthful Sense December 7, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    I would go there just for the coffee =)
    My husband would order 2 pasta dishes too!!

  6. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers December 7, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    I don’t know if I could pick a favorite city. Florence was a good one though! How did you like their salt-less bread? I liked it… with a dip of olive oil, of course. 🙂

  7. Shanna, like Banana December 7, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    2 entrees of pasta? Now that’s the way to roll 😉

    My fave European city? Don’t make me choose!

    Paris, Rome, Venice top the list though

  8. Trainer Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life December 7, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    I really really really want to go to Paris and then tour all of Italy! I’d be in food heaven!

  9. Claire @ livingspreethegoodlife December 7, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    Ahhh Florence, I love it there!! It looks like you are having such an amazing time!

    When I backpacked around Europe with my sister a few years back I remember that we found it difficult to find healthy (low-calorie, low fat options) food. We found the food is rich and delicious, just not that healthy. We ended up finding an amazing hidden gem, a vegetarian organic food bar and cafe in Barcelona. And of course the falafels in Paris…nothing compares 🙂

    Enjoy!!!!

  10. Jessica December 7, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    Everything looks amazing…I’m so jealous!

  11. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate December 7, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    I need to go to Europe. Just sayin’ 😉

  12. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish December 8, 2011 at 1:44 am

    Wow, your meal at Il Latini looks absolutely heavenly. Fresh tomato sauce and ravioli is one of my favorite combinations! And that coffee–yum!

    I’ve been to Europe five times, but still haven’t been to Italy (unless you count taking a boat from Switzerland to a small town just across the border, ordering an espresso, then hopping back on the boat!). My next trip–hopefully this summer–will definitely include Florence, Venice and Rome! Until then, my favorite European cities are Stockholm, London and Berlin. I also love Lucerne, Switzerland, one of the most picturesque places I’ve ever been!

  13. Kris December 8, 2011 at 1:58 am

    Wine, pasta, coffee….my kinda meals!! Dang, I have to go there…..I could eat boat loads of pasta daily if I let myself 😉

    xxoo

  14. peaceloveandoats December 8, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    I’ve never been to Europe but honestly, i cannot choose where I want to go first. i want to go EVERYWHERE. how can I choose?!!??

  15. Pingback: Rome, Part 1 « Live and Love to Eat

  16. Pingback: Rome, Part 2 « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

