Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Cookie Crazy

Good Monday Morning you to all!

Hope you had a fantastic weekend.  Mine was full of shopping, returns, and cookie baking.  I’m participating in my first sweet swap and trying to decide what to send my lucky(?) swap partner.

First I made a lightened up pumpkin cookie recipe, which I wasn’t thrilled with.  I think they will end up as a cake pop / ball… that’s on the agenda for tonight.

image

I was excited to see a lowfat gingerbread recipe on Skinnytaste last week.  Gingerbread is one of those cookies that I crave, and then after a few bites I can walk away and not want another one for a while!

image

I made both minis and full sized ginger people – about half of them were headless!

image

I got about 2 dozen full sized people and 50 minis!  Ginger graveyard:

image

My decorating skills are seriously pathetic, but the icing is delicious so it doesn’t really matter what they look like.

image

The minis were my favorite (highest ratio of icing to cookie!):

image

I also made Katie’s skinny snickerdoodles.  I only got about 14 from my batch, and they didn’t last for more than 24 hours between my parents, grandmother (who was staying with them for the weekend), my brother, and my husband.

image

Is it okay that I enjoyed these cookies more than any I made from scratch?

 

image

Dear TJs: Please come out with a credit card or rewards card ASAP.  Or some top secret VIP club.  I promise I’ll be a good member!

Did you do any cookie baking this weekend?  What are  your thoughts on gingerbread? People usually either love it or hate it!

20 responses to “Cookie Crazy

  1. Shanna, like Banana December 12, 2011 at 11:52 am

    I love gingerbread but can’t seem to find a recipe that I can master. I always like when someone else makes them.

    I made pecan pie cookies this weekend. Yum yum!

    Oh and i”m all for a TJ’s rewards program!

  2. kristina@beancakes ♠ December 12, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    claire ~ you just made my mouth water, no joke! and my thoughts on gingerbread are that i LOVE it!!!!!!!!
    xo ~ kristina

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance December 12, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    When in doubt– CAKE BALL!

  4. Melissa December 12, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Ya know, gingerbread has never really done it for me. But Lindsay (happyorhungry.com) showed some on her blog a couple of weeks ago that actually looked good to me!

    I made hershey kiss pretzel treats and this creative mix stuff that has white chocolate and PB captain crunch. Cookies next weekend! 🙂

  5. loftyappetite December 12, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    I did my share of cookie baking last night too! I totally agree with you about gingerbread. It’s a flavor I love and crave around the holidays, but I get enough of it fast, to last me til next year! Must be because it’s such a strong flavor. yumm.

  6. raceready December 12, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    Love, love, love gingerbread. But it has to be in a soft form. Gingerbread muffins are the best!

  7. Trainer Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life December 12, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    I’m a sucker for gingerbread. They are my favorite holiday cookie. I usually make gingerbread circle cookies since I don’t have the motivation to use cut outs and I love frosting them with cream cheese frosting! I haven’t started baking yet, but will start next week right before our guests get into town!

  8. Lauren @ Sugar Coated Sisters December 12, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    how were the gingerbread cookies? i’m looking for an A+ recipe but can’t decide!

  9. Chelcie's Food Files December 12, 2011 at 8:01 pm

    sounds like you were busy baking! I love gingerbread cookies..and I am the worst cookie decorator ever its so pathetic! I 100% agree with you on the TJ’s reward card!

  10. peaceloveandoats December 12, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    I’m done with finals friday and head home sunday, and then it’s time to let the baking begin! I can’t wait to FINALLY experience the holidays!

  11. Hayley (Oat Couture) December 13, 2011 at 5:54 am

    Mmmm gingerbread!!! Love it!! I actually just made my first ever loaf of gingerbread this weekend and it was ahhmazing! Also better than any recipe I have ever made from scratch! 😉

  12. Pingback: Sweet Swap « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

