Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Spinach, Sugar, Sushi, and Smorgie

Why is it that I fall in love with products from stores like Big Lots, TJ Maxx, and Homegoods?  Typically they are only there once and you can’t find them again.  My latest find, cinnamon sugar white chocolate drizzled kettlecorn, by a company named “Popcorn Indiana” may or may not have been my dinner on Friday.  If you live in Indiana and want to send me a few dozen cases for Christmas, let me know! 😉

image

No it wasn’t really my dinner.  I made a spinach omelet and topped it with hummus and nutritional yeast.  I know “nooch” is a pretty polarizing food, but I think using it on eggs is the best way to incorporate it!

image

I worked my late shift last night and tweeted how I was excited to have TJ’s brown sushi for “dinner”…. until I found a big chunk of plastic in one of the pieces!

image

I e-mailed TJ’s but don’t know if I should return the remaining product or what.  Suggestions?

 

Smorgie.com - Make and Share lists of Yummy

Thanks to my membership in the Foodie Blogroll, I was encouraged to sign up for Smorgie.com, a new site that is designed to help you organize the restaurants you like or what to try in different lists.  I played around with it last night, and these are my thoughts:

  • Pros: pretty comprehensive list of local restaurants (once you get the hang of it), photos to help you identify the right places
  • Cons: not very user-friendly, doesn’t automatically direct you to local places

Overall, I don’t think Smorgie would be a site I would use to choose new places to visit.  I already know which restaurants I like, and I understand sharing your “list” with friends, but I would be more likely to use Urbanspoon to get opinions on places I’m not sure about.  It also wasn’t the most intuitive site to use, and kept giving me results from other states.  It might come in handy if you’re visiting another city to see the locals’ recommendations.

Have you heard of Smorgie?  Would you use it?

Ever find a non-food object in your food?  I found a piece of a wire brush in my pasta once at a restaurant and they took care of our entire check. 

This sponsorship is brought to you by Smorgie.com who I have partnered with for this promotion.

22 responses to “Spinach, Sugar, Sushi, and Smorgie

  1. sprint2thetable December 13, 2011 at 8:58 am

    You should take it back to TJs! That’s terrible. I’ve never found anything like that… but did have a hair in my meal at a restaurant once or twice. *shudder*

  2. allieksmith December 13, 2011 at 9:10 am

    I’ve never heard of Smorgie but it sounds really cool! I always like reading your blog for Pgh restaurant reviews 😉

    I’m so sorry that plastic was in your sushi.. at least it wasn’t a hair !

  3. foodsweatandbeers December 13, 2011 at 11:02 am

    I found a bone in my Healthy Choice one time, and complained and received some coupons for free future foods…. Not that the bone made me very hungry for more, but I rarely say no to free.

    That popcorn, though, looks PHENOM!! GAH love/hate that about Homegoods!

  4. Shanna, like Banana December 13, 2011 at 11:17 am

    Oh no! You could totally take it back to TJ’s..they are so nice there, they would surely refund without hesitation.

    I found a slice of raw ham at the end of my water glass when I was a vegetarian…ICK

  5. Kelly @ Laughter, Strength, and Food December 13, 2011 at 11:30 am

    Recently, we were out to dinner and we heard a couple behind us tell the manager that her coffee cup wasn’t clean and there was a piece of food in the bottom. Lee picked up my cup of coffee and tilted it and there was an onion in the bottom of my cup!!! I HATE onions! I was thoroughly grossed out! I’m assuming there was a problem with their dishwasher because we have eaten at that restaurant a ton and have never had a problem…but YUCK!!

  6. Annette@EnjoyYourHealthyLife December 13, 2011 at 11:33 am

    I would DEF take it bake to TJ’s. THey’d be horrified and prob give you a few things for free.

    I LOVE sweet/salty popcorn, so that stuff looks legit!

  7. peaceloveandoats December 13, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever found something weird in my food, at least not that i can remember. And you should look at the popcorn company’s website or e-mail them, they’ll tell you what stores they distribute to!

  8. Melissa December 13, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    Yes, take it back for sure!

    I love the food sections at TJ Maxx/Home Goods, too. They’re dangerous! I usually get “good” vanilla there. So much more reasonable than from a specialty store!

  9. beth @ a latte inspiration December 13, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    I never think of going to big lots for food items but that popcorn looks yummy. If I recall correctly think they make a chocolate and/or peppermint version too. Ugh sorry about the sushi….I’m sure TJs would let you return it and pick up another one.

  10. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers December 13, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    Nope, never heard of Smorgie. I love going out to eat, but I rarely do it. So maybe it’s not the best thing for me.

  11. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate December 13, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Is it weird I have never been to TJ MAXX?

  12. Alexa @ SimpleEats December 13, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    Plastic?! Ick! My friend found a bug in her salad once and they offered to give her a new salad. She definitely just wanted her money back!

  13. Kris December 14, 2011 at 1:58 am

    Oooo girl, these little corns look fab! I’ve never even heard of them before!!

    Hahahhaha ok, I can’t stop chuckling at “Smorgie” what a fun name! I’ve never heard of it either!!

    xxoo

  14. healthydivaeatskatie December 14, 2011 at 9:02 am

    Oh that popcorn is good, when I lived in Indiana I had that! I should of bought a bunch of bags before I moved, could of gave some to you!

    Happy Wednesday love! xo

    YIKES about the sushi from trader joe’s!

Leave a Reply

