Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Friday Five (and a Breakfast Cake)

1) I had a guest post on becoming an RD on Peace, Love, and Oats last weekend while Katie was prepping for her finals.  Go check it out.

2) Melissa said this popcorn is available at Whole Foods.  Could be bad news for my waistline.

image

3) I’m going to run a few miles a week in addition to my regular workouts.  Instead of 2-3 miles at a time, which tends to be painful on my injured ankle [perioneal tendonitis], I’ll add 1 mile at a time in addition to spin classes or strength days, just to build up my ankle strength.  Hopefully this gets me back to running without pain – even if it takes time.

4)  New favorite Starbucks treat: tall cafe’ misto (brewed coffee with steamed milk) with 1 pump sugar free vanilla & 1 pump sugar free cinnamon dolce – 60 calories!  Holiday flavor but not gross like their gingerbread and not as many calories of pumpkin spice.  Try it!

image

5) New breakfast obsession.  I went to spin class last night and again early this morning (I’m working a late shift at work), and I was famished for a filling breakfast – oats or eggs just wouldn’t do.

I wanted to try one of Ashley’s famous buckwheat bakes, but I was also pressed for time.  I used Bob’s Red Mill 10 grain hot cereal mix (which I never make on its own) to make a microwave breakfast cake.  Protein packed, warm, dense, and super filling.

image

10 Grain Microwave Breakfast Cake

Ingredients

1/4 cup Bob’s Red Mill 10 grain hot cereal (I’m sure any kind of grains would work here, but these add protein, fiber, and tons of vitamins)

1 egg white

1/2 banana, mashed well

1/2 scoop protein powder

3 Tbsp almond milk

3 drops vanilla stevia

1 tsp cinnamon

1) Mix all ingredients VERY well.  The mixture should resemble a thin pancake batter.

2) Pour into greased microwave safe dish.

3) Cook 1:45-2:00 minutes – be careful it doesn’t over flow!

image

Approximate nutrition facts (without cinnamon raisin PB & syrup): 300 calories, 46 grams carbs, 5 grams fat, 22 grams protein

image

The texture was way better than microwaved protein cakes I’ve made in the past (which were always too eggy/chewy) – I think the flax in the 10 grain mixture helps to make it fluffy too.  This would have been amazing topped with some Chobani but I’m all out!  Time to restock this weekend.  Can’t wait to try this with pumpkin.

5b) Did you miss my lightened up buffalo chickpea dip

Nine days till Christmas!  Who’s ready?

Have a great weekend! ❤

12 responses to “Friday Five (and a Breakfast Cake)

  1. sprint2thetable December 16, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    That breakfast bake looks like dessert. I love it! Happy Friday!

  2. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate December 16, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Now I want cake for breakfast tomorrow. Thanks 😉

  3. Baking Serendipity December 16, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    I think I’d like a popcorn and coffee snack now 🙂 Thanks for the new Starbucks idea…I’m always game for those!

  4. peaceloveandoats December 16, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    that breakfast cake looks absolutely delicious! I might have to change my ways a bit and try it out!

  5. Melissa December 17, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Yay for getting back to running! I hope it goes well and the ankle holds up for you.

    I am SO trying your Starbucks order. I just have to remember it once I get there! 😉

  6. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish December 18, 2011 at 3:27 am

    Yum–your breakfast cake creation looks delicious! I bet it would be pretty fantastic coupled with a vanilla/cinnamon dolce cafe misto! 😉 I plan on trying both!

    Oh, and not to forget the popcorn! I’ll be on the prowl next time I’m in Whole Foods.

  7. teabagginit December 19, 2011 at 12:05 am

    i’ve made a couple of ashley’s breakfast bakes for my grandparents but never for myself. i’m a “volume eater” and those always looks so small!

  8. Kathleen December 19, 2011 at 8:48 am

    I really like the “buckwheat bake” recipe, so tasty and it keeps me full over a long period of time 🙂 I’ve tried both cooking methods.. I like both, but I often choose the microwave cooking because its so much faster!! I don’t like to wait 30 minutes for my breakfast to be ready 😉

    Thank for the Starbuck’s suggestion, I was always a bit deceived by the pumpkin spice latte, a bit too sweet for my taste! But I liked the flavor that it brings (according to spices). Next time, I’ll try your version 🙂

    What kind of work are you doing ? I’m curious 😉

  9. Pingback: Sweet Swap « Live and Love to Eat

  10. Pingback: Blueberry Breakfast Cake « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

