Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Semi-homemade Pizza

Thanks for the encouraging comments on my sweet swap cookies.  They still haven’t arrived at Mary’s house!  I’m worried they’ll be completely stale by the time they get there.  Overnight express next time for sure!

I love pizza.  It’s so versatile and easy to make both meat and veggie versions.  Between changing doughs, sauces, toppings and cheese combinations, I never get bored with it.

I know it’s not always the healthiest option for dinner, but when it’s a thin crust with a reasonable amount of cheese and a good amount of veggies, it’s an all in one meal.

image

Pepperoni?  Not so much.

Roasted veggies and spinach on whole wheat crust?  Yes, please!

image

When Trader Joe’s dough is only 99 cents and tastes amazing, it’s so easy to prepare pizza at home.  As much as I like making my own dough, I can’t compete with the flavor of their garlic and herb variety.

I chose to make this one more of a flat bread – no tomato sauce.

image

I brushed the par-baked crust with truffle oil (still not out yet!), then topped it with torn spinach leaves, steamed baby bella mushrooms, tempeh “bacon” and a mix of mozzarella, white cheddar, and parmesan cheese.

image

The only thing I would do differently is toss the spinach in a bit of the oil – the leaves that weren’t covered with cheese got a bit crispy!

I had the pizza alongside some spicy tomato soup – a nice change from a typical sweet soup.

image

What’s your favorite alternative pizza topping combination? I really like shrimp, pesto, caramelized onions, and feta – but this tempeh, spinach and mushroom version was pretty tasty!

19 responses to “Semi-homemade Pizza

  1. sprint2thetable December 20, 2011 at 8:21 am

    Looks pretty healthy to me! All those veggies and while wheat crust… what’s not to love? 🙂

    My favorite pizza combo is spinach, artichokes, sun-dried tomatoes, feta, and roasted garlic.

  2. peaceloveandoats December 20, 2011 at 8:45 am

    I actually prefer very little cheese, and lots of tomato sauce! And I’ll take just about any toppings, but I do love spinach, artichokes, and sun dried tomatoes!

  3. Allie December 20, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Mmm I love pizza too! My favorite toppings are BBQ sauce, chicken, spinach, and onions!

  4. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean December 20, 2011 at 9:51 am

    i love spinach on pizza! we had a great pizza this past weekend with goat cheese, artichokes, tomatoes and spinach!

  5. blogitness December 20, 2011 at 11:22 am

    Looks delicious! I’m a big fan of spinach on pizza!

  6. Melissa December 20, 2011 at 11:48 am

    That looks fantastic! You know I am a caramelized onion girl, but I also love bacon, feta, & tomatoes as a topping. So good! I could go my whole life without ever eating pepperoni again! I love artichokes, spinach, roasted red peppers, and mushrooms, too! YUM!! Now I want pizza. 🙂

  7. Kris December 20, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    YUM!! Pizza could be the food I eat daily if I had to choose one! I love it! Feta hands down is the BOMB on a pizza!!!

    xxxoo

    and olives….swoon

  8. eatingRD December 20, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    I honestly think I could eat pizza every day! Although I try not to 🙂 My fav is lots of veggies but I also love proscuitto with grilled peaches, goat cheese and a balsamic reduction. I love neopolitan style pizza.

  9. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate December 20, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    I live for pizza. Spinach and gorgonzola is my favorite!

  10. foodsweatandbeers December 20, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    I’m a huge fan of the BBQ sauce base, chicken, caramelized onions, and spinach. Doesn’t taste like Classic pizza, but it tastes like delicious pizza.

  11. Paige December 20, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Yummmm Claire – this pizza looks awesome!

  12. Alexa @ SimpleEats December 20, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    Im a chees-a-holic so bring it on! I try to keep it healthier, though, but using something strong like feta. I love mushrooms, onions and roasted garlic on mine!

  13. Pingback: Greek Pizza Bites and Asking for Advice « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

