Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

(Almost Too) Sweet Chex Mix

You’ve probably figured out by now that I have quite a sweet tooth – almost nothing is “too sweet” by my standards.  This recipe is adapted from my best friend’s version and I don’t really know what to call it – toffee or butterscotch Chex Mix, maybe?  It does contain some salt from the pretzels in the mixture, just enough to give it that satisfying sweet/salty balance.

My grandmother is a big fan of this mix – she actually asked me to make a batch last weekend, and who can turn down their 95 year old Nana?

image

Typically I try to post “lightened up” recipes on Thursdays – this is anything but light – filled with butter and sugar (although I did make a few substitutions).  But it makes a huge batch and is a great party or football snack. 

image

I’m sure Nana was glad I didn’t mess with this recipe.  At least I know where I got my sweet tooth from.  And if you eat too much, you’ll get a stomach ache.  Trust me.

BFF’s Sweet Toffee / Caramel Chex Mix

5 cups Rice Chex

5 cups Corn Chex

1 cup mini pretzels

2 cups pecan halves

1 stick + 2 Tbsp I used Olivio Light (or butter)

1 cup brown sugar, packed

1/2 cup brown rice syrup (or honey)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1) Pre-heat oven to 225.

2) Coat a large roasting pan or disposable tin with cooking spray.

3) Combine all dry ingredients and place in roasting pan.

4) Bring butter, sugar, and syrup to a boil for 5 minutes.

image

5) Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.

6) Pour mixture over dry ingredients and bake for 20 minutes, stir, and bake for an additional 20 minutes.  Repeat for a total of 1 hour.

7) Spread into single layer on waxed paper until cool, then break apart in to pieces.

image

Instead of sharing the nutrition info for this one, let’s just call it a holiday indulgence.

I added in a handful of leftover butterscotch chips as the mix was cooling.  There are unlimited substitutions you could make with this – I think Cheerios and other nuts would be delicious.  The pecans are my favorite part!

What’s your favorite Chex mix recipe?

I really dislike the traditional savory one – I’m not a fan of pepper!

17 responses to “(Almost Too) Sweet Chex Mix

  1. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean December 22, 2011 at 8:08 am

    my friend made the best chex mix this year complete with santa hats made of bugles!

  2. sprint2thetable December 22, 2011 at 8:09 am

    You’re such a sweet granddaughter! 😉

    I’ve never been a fan of Chex mix, though I can put down some “Trash” (the Chex stuff covered in powdered sugar and god know what else).

  3. Kris December 22, 2011 at 11:40 am

    OMG!!!! I love this!! I used to love everything….and still do that is made with cereal! LOL

    xxoo

  4. teabagginit December 22, 2011 at 11:45 am

    i just made “puppy chow” for a friend’s party! i tasted it and it was good (don’t have a huge sweet tooth, myself) and everyone else LOVED it!

  5. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish December 22, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    Oh my goodness, I LOVE Chex mixes! There’s something about that sweet and salty combination that’s so addicting. Your nana is one lucky lady. 🙂

    Since I’m a peanut butter and chocolate gal, “muddy buddies”/”puppy chow” (I’m sure there are other names too) are the way I roll. But the powdered sugar and chocolate make it super messy!

  6. Allie December 22, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    My mouth is watering .. The recipe sounds and looks good. Pretty sure the stomach ache would be worth it 😉

  7. Kimberly December 22, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    That stuff is sooo good – I had a friend make a similar recipe and I literally ate an entire bowl to myself. It was really sweet, but the salty peanuts and almonds she threw in there made it perfect!

  8. Elina (Healthy and Sane) December 22, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    Mmm, this stuff definitely looks addictive. I love salt/sweet combos! 🙂

  9. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate December 22, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    What is the chex mix with chocolate and peanut butter? Puppy chow? LOVE that stuff.

  10. Jessica @ Stylish Stealthy and Healthy December 22, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    I would say the original chex mix is my favorite, but I really just like those little pieces of spicy toast. Once I pick all of those out, I’m over it.
    But I agree w/ Matt, puppy chow is the jam.

  11. Pingback: Five (or more) Cookie Friday « Live and Love to Eat

  12. Shannon (Healthiful Balance) December 27, 2011 at 6:12 am

    I love chex mix!! 🙂 It’s a great snack..but it doesnt last long around me! 😛

  13. Pingback: Holiday Eats and Treats « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

