Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Lightening Up: 2011

Thursdays are typically the day that I post a “lightened up” recipe.  Today it seems appropriate to recap my favorites from the year.

Baked Oatmeal

image

Taken from 394 calories and 15 grams of fat to 200 calories and 4 grams of fat, packed with protein, and incredibly satisfying.

For a single serving option, try the protein packed peach version.

Carrot Souffle

image

My favorite side dish – I made it for Thanksgiving but could eat it every single day.  It was also delicious in my oats the next few mornings.

Low Fat Pumpkin Spice Granola

image

By replacing some of the calorically dense oats with other cereals and minimizing added fat and sugar, this granola came out suprisingly low in calories, and a better choice than most packaged granolas.

Buffalo Chickpea/Chicken Dip

image

Making simple low fat or fat free subsitutions with this dip make it almost guilt free – works with chicken or chickpeas, for fellow vegheads.

Pumpkin Pie “Blizzard”

image

My favorite (by far), this satisfies your sweet tooth and makes a great post workout protein treat.

Pumpkin Muffins

image

At 90 calories a piece, I can’t believe I haven’t made a second batch yet (it’s on my to-do list).  I want to experiment with other flavors too, but you know I love my pumpkin.  These were made with alternative flours, but I’m eager to try them with more basic ingredients.

Bacon and Spinach Souffle

image

A savory, filling breakfast that puts Panera’s fat-laden version to shame.

S’Mores Cupcakes

image

Somehow these are under 200 calories and the most indulgent thing I ate all summer. 

What’s your favorite “light” recipe of the year?  Link up below!

14 responses to “Lightening Up: 2011

  1. sprint2thetable December 29, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Under 200 calories and indulgent is my favorite way to be. 🙂

  2. Kimberly December 29, 2011 at 10:54 am

    that bacon and spinach souffle looks delicious!

  3. Cait's Plate December 29, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Those s’mores cupcakes are under 200 calories?!?!? That’s AMAZING! I’m always lightening things up here and there – I enjoy the challenge 🙂

  4. Allie December 29, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    The s’mores cupcakes look so so good!!!

  5. peaceloveandoats December 29, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    That carrot souffle looks right up my alley! I’ll have to give it a try!

  6. raceready December 29, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    I can’t believe I haven’t tried baked oatmeal yet, sounds great!

  7. Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries December 29, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    oh wow, these all look amazing! there’s a few i can’t wait to try out!

  8. Smore December 29, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    These are some great recipes. I can’t believe I just found your blog! I’m going to have to try some of these very soon. The pumpkin muffins and pumpkin pie “blizzard” look especially delicious too me!

  9. Pingback: Friday Five – Blog Edition « Live and Love to Eat

  10. eatingRD December 30, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    mmm that pumpkin blizzard looks tasty!

  11. teabagginit December 31, 2011 at 9:00 am

    i’m so glad you posted this or i would have totally forgotten about the pumpkin pie blizzard and that is sacrilege! i love everything pumpkin, creamy & frosty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

