Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

What I Ate (and What Santa Brought) Wednesday

Happy golden anniversary, WIAW!  Thanks for the party, Jenn!

Peas and Crayons

After recapping our honeymoon eats for the past several weeks, it’s back to normal.  Back to basic foods, eaten at work that don’t look at all appetizing.  More importantly, after the gluttony of the holiday season, I’m focusing on low fat protein, whole grains, and veggies.  And my body will thank me for it.

Breakfast #1 – 6am, at home:

image

A slice of cranberry walnut wheat bread with peanut butter.  I woke up starving!

Breakfast #2 – 8:30, at work:

image

Greek yogurt, Kay’s Cinnamon cereal, and flax meal.  Unpictured: tall coffee with sugar free caramel and soy.

Recaffeination (new word?) – 10:15 AM

image

Free sample of a 5 calorie peppermint mocha instant coffee mix.  Way too heavy on the peppermint, fixed by adding 1/2 a packet of hot chocolate mix.

image

Lunch – 12:15, at work:

image

Ugliest photo ever?  Possibly.  Leftovers – way more delicious than they looked!  Whole wheat capellini with dad’s homemade sauce, plus my addition of tempeh, green peppers, mushrooms and zucchini.

Snack – 3 pm, at work: package of nuts from Starbucks oatmeal – my coworker gets them several times and week and doesn’t use them! 🙂

Snack – 4:30 pm:

image

Lots of grapes.  Lots and lots. 

Dinner, 6:30 pm:

image

After a 40 minute circuit workout (JM’s No More Trouble Zones), I wasn’t starving but knew I needed a good amount of protein for dinner.  Lindsay’s tuna melt had me craving tuna!

I recently tried these for the first time and really liked them.

image

They were perfect for warming my tuna salad in the toaster oven, since I had a carb-heavy lunch and didn’t want a lot of bread for dinner.

image

Lemon Chickpea Tuna Salad

1 can chunk light tuna, drained

1/2 can (~1 cup) chickpeas, rinsed and drained, mashed with fork

1.5 Tbsp lemon juice

1.5 Tbsp garlic hummus

1 Tbsp plain greek yogurt

1/4 tsp dried basil

1/8 tsp dried thyme

2 Tbsp freshly grated parmesan cheese

2 campari tomatoes, chopped

Makes 2 servings.

image

Approximate nutrition (per serving): 270 calories, 7 g fat, 30 g carbs, 19 g protein

Also for dinner, a new (to me) TJ’s soup:

image

Not my favorite, but it was definitely a soup night – about 3 inches of snow fell here yesterday! 

And something sweet –

image

Sweet potato poppers.

What I got from Santa:

Spin shoes!  I’m officially a nerd now.  I’ve wanted them for a while (since I take about 3 classes per week), but they’re something I never would have spent the money on myself.

A beautiful recipe binder – my current system of pinning then scribbling recipes on post-it’s just isn’t efficient.

A myriad of cookbooks:

I also got an autographed copy of Alton Brown’s Good Eats 3 from my aunt and cousin who met him at a book signing!  I love the way he explains food science (even though he can be a bit silly), and his recipes are to die for (like his overnight cinnamon rolls).

Lululemon had a great after Christmas sale so I finally caved and ordered two pairs of shorts – getting both for around $55 was totally justifiable when one pair can cost almost that much at full price.

They’re awesome, but I still can’t justify spending $120 on a hoodie, no matter how comfortable it is.

One “aww” gift from my parents to my husband and I:

image

We’re not a fan of having a ton of fussy pillows on the bed, but this one is too cute: “And they lived happily ever after…”

Did Santa bring you anything food or fitness related?

16 responses to “What I Ate (and What Santa Brought) Wednesday

  1. Shannon from Healthiful Balance January 4, 2012 at 7:46 am

    Happy WIAW! 🙂 I love yogurt with Kays Naturals protein cereal, such a great combo! 🙂 Those wasa crakers are great!

  2. The Candid RD January 4, 2012 at 7:50 am

    Yum, I think we have very similar food tastes!! Sweet potato poppers sound marvelous. And that carrot ginger soup is right up my alley. Yum.

    I didn’t get anything sports or food related this year. Really, it’s the first. I actually begged for no more kitchen things because I know we’ll get plenty for our wedding at the end of the year!

  3. sprint2thetable January 4, 2012 at 8:00 am

    Recaffinated is most certainly a word! At the very least, it’s an important strategy at work. 🙂

    That pillow is so sweet. I got a lot of foodie Christmas presents – not the least of which was a Kitchen Aid mixer!

  4. char on a mission January 4, 2012 at 8:30 am

    I love those little starbucks nuts packets too!! When I was in Florida walking around the golf course with my hubby (not my first option to be doing on a sunny day lol), I had some leftover as well, and you’re right, they are great!!

    Santa (aka my husband) got me a KitchenAid stand mixer…I’m almost scared to use it because I’ve wanted one for so long!!

  5. Chelcie's Food Files January 4, 2012 at 9:30 am

    I love lululemon but I agree with you the prices are insane..it makes me so mad because I like it so much! At least you got a good deal though!

  6. Katie @ Peace Love & Oats January 4, 2012 at 10:33 am

    Haha I also eat lots and lots of grapes at once! Once I start, I just can’t stop!

  7. Lisa ♥ Healthful Sense January 4, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    Peppermint hot chocolate sounds sooo good!
    And love that carrot ginger soup! I stock up on that stuff!
    Happy WIAW =)

  8. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate January 4, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    Santa brought my a Keurig coffee maker 🙂 I love that thing!

  9. Melissa January 4, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    YAY for the spin shoes!!! I love getting new fitness gear. I got new (sweatproof) headphones and a garmin! 😀 Very excited about that!

  10. Laura January 4, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    Yum! I love spin classes too, and the Wasa thin crackers. It’s nice to see someone else who snacks as frequently as I do… I feel like I eat all day long! 🙂 Stopping by from wiaw!

  11. teabagginit January 5, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    it’s funny, because the ONLY things santa brought me were fitness and food related! 🙂 http://teabagginit.wordpress.com/2012/01/02/mums-the-word-monday-christmas-present-edition/
    those sweet potato poppers look great! i’m definitely checking out the recipe right now!
    ps – i always save the unused brown sugar pkts from starbuck’s oatmeal to give to my man! 🙂 i pay for them in my oatmeal price, why not?

Leave a Reply

