Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Five Food Friday

Good morning and happy Friday!

Notice the new header?  My friend & neighbor Hannah designed it for me.  She is an amazing photographer, has an Etsy shop, and works on blog designGo visit her blog.  Thanks, Hannah! 🙂

1) Creative leftovers – I broiled some TJ’s tofu with a liquid aminos / stevia / chili oil / rice vinegar marinade and added it to some leftover moo shu (?) shrimp.  I wasn’t in the mood to go out for Chinese, but will happily enjoy someone else’s leftovers. 🙂

image

2) The rest of the tofu was used last night on an egg/tofu/guac sandwich, inspired a bit by this sandwich and this one, both of which were probably much more delicious, but this only took 10 minutes after a tough gym workout.  I fully intended to add tomato but woops, that didn’t happen.

image

3)  This sandwich was also my first experience with Mama Pea’s yogi guacamole.  Holy yum.  And garlic breath. 😉

image

4) My second batch of one pot macaroni and cheese.  So simple, so satsifying.  I made it last week and enjoyed it as a side dish for days.

image

5) I got up extra early (and I mean early) to make a batch of blueberry muffins.  It’s a very special man’s birthday.  I was so excited to buy a “husband” birthday card for the first time (photo from our thank you notes)!

I used the overnight oat muffin recipe and added lemon zest this time – can’t wait to see how they turned out! I brought one to work (hot out of the pan, in this lovely foil wrapping) and left the rest on the counter for Adam.  I left two without crumb topping so I feel little less guilty eating them.

image

I also purchased a filet mignon for the first time last night and plan to make it for Adam tonight.  Wish us BOTH luck. 🙂

How do you make your significant other’s/friend’s/family members’ birthdays extra special?

I think baking is love in the form of food. 🙂

22 responses to “Five Food Friday

  1. sprint2thetable January 6, 2012 at 8:22 am

    Love the header! It;s so nice and “clean” looking. 🙂

    The addition of lemon zest to those muffins sounds like a great idea. Adding a citrus zest can make such a difference – why don’t I do that more often?! Thanks for the reminder.

    Happy Friday!

  2. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean January 6, 2012 at 8:22 am

    happy birthday hubby! and i must make that mac and cheese! love the new look!

  3. Chelcie's Food Files January 6, 2012 at 9:20 am

    Mmmm the tofu on the sandwich sounds delicious! Happy birthday to your husband!!

  4. Cait's Plate January 6, 2012 at 9:21 am

    I totally agree with you that baking is love in food form! 🙂

  5. Lisa ♥ Healthful Sense January 6, 2012 at 9:23 am

    Love the new header!!
    Makes me want a new one… soon hopefully!
    And a very Happy Birthday to your husband =)
    Have a great weekend!

  6. Gina @ Running to the Kitchen January 6, 2012 at 10:17 am

    My husband is mac n cheese obsessed so I usually make some variation of it for his birthday 🙂 The new header looks great!

  7. Ali Mc January 6, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    I have no idea but I have 2 bdays coming up; my son’s 2nd bday and my hubby’s I don’t know what I’m doing! lol

  8. Kathryn @ Flopoodle January 6, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    It’s my bf’s birthday tomorrow! I guess I equate food to love, so I try to make him lots of delicious things to eat. And of course, there are plenty of presents as well 🙂

  9. Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries January 6, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    i couldn’t agree more with you about “baking is love in the form of food”! like my grandma always said, food is the key to a man’s heart, which is totally my husband! i always make sure to bake him his favorite chocolate chip cookies, cook him his favorite dinner, and shower him with his other favorites.

  10. biz319 January 6, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    Good luck on the steak – hopefully it isn’t too late – but make sure your steak is at room temp (30 minutes on the counter) before cooking – cold meat + hot pan = tough. And cracked pepper and salt are all you need for that cut of meat – happy birthday to your hubs!

  11. Katie @ Peace Love & Oats January 7, 2012 at 10:33 am

    That was sweet of you to make muffins! Lol I live alone so I don’t do anything like that for birthdays, but I do love baking things for people!

  12. LizAshlee January 7, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Tasty eats…your new header is cute and colorful!! Have an awesome day!

  13. Hannah January 7, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    thanks for linking me! I’m glad you like the header 🙂

  14. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish January 8, 2012 at 4:25 am

    I definitely express my love by baking for others! Who doesn’t go ga-ga for warm muffins or cookies, fresh from the oven? 🙂

    The new header is wonderful! Your friend did a fantastic job!

    Tell your husband happy birthday! I hope you both enjoyed the filet mignon! (It’s one of my favorites!) xo

  15. blogitness January 8, 2012 at 9:51 am

    Happy Birthday to your husband! I love that you get up extra early to make muffins for his birthday! For as long as I can remember, my family has always started off birthdays, holidays and other special occasions with muffins. I now continue that tradition in my own house!

  16. Katie@Real Food Katie's Way January 8, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    Love the new header!!!

    Jeff and I don’t usually do much in way of birthdays but I will often wake him up with back tickles and snuggles…Then the usual breakfast in bed…And more snuggles!! Other than that, not much! This year he will be healing from getting 5 teeth pulled…I see milkshakes in his future!

  17. Allison @ PickyEatingRD January 8, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    I always try to make my bf’s fav. foods on his bday or a special occasion. I love when people bake for me! I’m with ya def. the way to my heart.

  18. totesmyoats January 8, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    Those muffins look great and what a genius idea for the Mac and Cheese!

Leave a Reply

