Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

From Steaks to Smoothies

I spent so much time in the kitchen this weekend!  Friday I cooked dinner for husband’s birthday (and made muffins early that morning), Saturday I made a batch of homemade granola (can’t WAIT to share it with you) and lentil sloppy joes, and Sunday was spent making treats to watch football (buffalo chickpea dip and baked mozzarella sticks).  And no, I don’t wanna talk about the game.

Thank you all for your advice on grilling the filets!  I did bring the meat to room temperature first, preheat the grill, and minimally season it (since it was a nice filet mignon), but it was super undercooked when I brought it to the table.  It went back on the grill, which made the rest of the food cold by the time we ate, but my husband was a great sport and really appreciated my effort.

Grilled ciabatta, filet mignon, and tuna steak.

image

Best ever one pot cheesy pasta, made with whole wheat orzo instead of macaroni noodles.  I also used a combination of amazing cheeses: high quality gouda, aged English white cheddar, and fresh parmesan.

Orzo = fancified mac & cheese, but my husband said – “something’s wrong with this macaroni”.  Yes dear, it’s whole grain.  Deal.

image

Cauliflower is Adam’s favorite vegetable, so I served it mashed a la Jenn with roasted garlic a la Jess.

Husband: “This cauliflower tastes really garlic-y.  And it’s the wrong texture, like mashed potatoes.”

Me: “That’s the idea.”

I think it was still a success, since my husband told me he had the best birthday ever.

image

After our dinner alone, we went to his family’s house where his mother served an incredible birthday cake.  There’s something about her Polish baked goods – they throw together tons of layers and flavors (this one had pineapple, plum, brandy, chocolate, and anise) and cover it with rich unsweetened whipped cream and sprinkles and it works.  Wish I had a photo to share, but I spent the night celebrating my husband instead of lugging around my good camera (why the dinner photos were taken with my phone).

I tried to take it easy on the sweets last week (recovering from the holidays), but was craving a bowl of chocolate oats. 

Stove top whipped banana oats with protein powder, cocoa powder, and a spoonful of almond butter.

image

Mid-morning snack before running errands: simple smoothie with 0% Chobani (plain), vanilla stevia, almond milk, and mixed frozen berries.

image

Sunday’s lunch was another smoothie, thanks to the last of my Chobani delivery.

Drinking my greens makes me feel great – especially when they taste like a milkshake!

image

Stay tuned for a Chobani giveaway later this week!

Do you document every single thing, or is experiencing something more important? I didn’t want to put everything on hold to get perfect photos of the food this weekend – making my husband feel special was more important.

28 responses to “From Steaks to Smoothies

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance January 9, 2012 at 11:49 am

    Haha I love your husbands little comments. Although Will & I aren’t married, I definitely hear my share of “peanut gallery” remarks. My favorite is “these whole wheat noodles taste like shrimp”

    mind you, they were completely plain.

  2. sprint2thetable January 9, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    This cracked me up: “something’s wrong with this macaroni.” LOL!

    I’m the same way with photos. I stopped taking a lot at restaurants after realizing I’d much rather just relax and enjoy my meal.

  3. Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries January 9, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    it gives me a headache thinking about documenting every.single.thing. plus, i don’t want to annoy people or even think about it sometimes. i’d much rather just experience things and every so often whip out the camera. 😉

  4. peaceloveandoats January 9, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    Since I’ve been at home in KC and visiting friends in other places, I definitely photograph things less. I just want to enjoy their company and not worry about getting pictures for the blog.

  5. blogitness January 9, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Most of the time I’d rather enjoy my meal! If I’m home, I’m more likely to take pictures than if I am out.

  6. Michelle January 9, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    I try to document (with food especially) before I call my husband to the table; makes it a little less awkward when I whip the camera out when he is mid-bite or something 🙂

  7. foodsweatandbeers January 9, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    I certainly don’t document every single thing, I feel like sometimes it takes me out of the “moment” whenever I try to do that!!

  8. Run Eat Play January 9, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    Everything looks yummy! I love orzo – I never thought it use it in macaroni! Great idea!

  9. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate January 9, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    There’s no way I could document everything. I’d go nuts!

  10. Katelyn @ Chef Katelyn January 9, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    I’ve been trying SO hard to drink more smoothies — something about them makes me want to eat better!

  11. Lindsay @ Chobani January 9, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    Your husband’s comments crack us up– that macaroni looks delish! Though, not much tops that glowing feeling after drinking a nice, healthy smoothie. Can’t wait for the giveaway!

  12. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) January 9, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    It really depends on my mood weather I document things and take photos with every meal. It’s so off/on for me. Ultimate fail of consistency lolz! Anyways sometimes though-experiencing is way more important. 🙂

  13. Pingback: Return of the Green Smoothie (Custom Chobani Giveaway!) « Live and Love to Eat

  14. Jana @ Newly Wife Healthy Life January 10, 2012 at 8:31 am

    I definitely don’t blog every moment of my life. I am just getting started with blogging so I am still trying to decide the type of posting schedule I like. However, I do believe some things in life are private and if you post everything too openly, your blog may turn into a reality show of your life. That is okay for some people, I love reading about life events, but for others it may be too overwhelming!

  15. Cari January 10, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    right now, black cherry is my favorite flavor, but i really want to try the new blood orange, apple cinnamon, and passion fruit!!!

  16. Cari January 10, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    i like your page on facebook 🙂

  17. Cari January 10, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    i like chobani’s page on facebook 🙂

  18. Pingback: Blueberry Breakfast Cake « Live and Love to Eat

  19. Hayley (Oat Couture) January 11, 2012 at 7:46 am

    I completely agree, I am always forgetting to photograph meals and events but I kind of think thats how life should be, also I think sometimes we get so caught up in the photographing of the food we miss out on taking photos of the people we love! As with everything else it’s alllll about balance! 🙂 Also you have just inspired me to make a green smoothie for the first time in longer than I care to admit! 😉 so thanks! 🙂

  20. Pingback: The Perfect Low Fat Granola « Live and Love to Eat

  21. Pingback: Lightened Up – Roasted Red Pepper Sauce « Live and Love to Eat

  22. Pingback: Creamy Cruciferous Soup « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

