Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Blueberry Breakfast Cake

Happy What I Ate Wednesday!

Peas and Crayons

I was super ambitious and completed my work very early this morning – a challenging 5:45 AM spin class.

Working out in the morning always leaves me hungry throughout the day, so I tried to prepare with a filling breakfast, big lunch for work, and healthy dinner plans.

Breakfast, 7 am:

image

Blueberry breakfast cake – made with mashed dates (using hot water) instead of a banana and plain oats instead of the hot cereal mix.

Microwaved and topped with plain Chobani (sweetened with vanilla stevia).  Good to the last bite!

Unpictured: coffee on the way to spin class, around 5:25 AM – and a handful of amazing granola (recipe still to come!)

Lunch, 12:15 pm:

image

One my mother in law’s mushroom croquettes – pan fried but extra delicious.

image

I really need to stop eating ugly food on Tuesdays.  Mashed up black bean veggie burger mixed with leftover 3 cheese orzo.

Mid Afternoon fuel, 3PM:

image

Short skim misto (with blonde roast – not crazy about it) and sugar free caramel.

Unpictured snack, 5pm – carrot sticks and chipotle hummus

Follow by lots of this (thanks a lot, Dad):

image

Balanced out with an extremely healthy – and photogenic – dinner:

Savory roasted veggies, kale, and farro – but the toppings make this dish!

It was my first time using farro and I love it!  Recipe to come!

My Chobani giveaway is on till Friday, don’t forget to enter!  The winner will get to design their own 12 pack!  Wish I could win this one! 😉

Have you tried Starbucks Blonde Roast?  Have you ever cooked with farro?

24 responses to “Blueberry Breakfast Cake

  1. sprint2thetable January 11, 2012 at 8:11 am

    That IS a gorgeous dinner! I’ve never made farro at home, but I get it from my favorite lunch spot a lot. Can’t wait for your recipe – I’d like to try it out!

  2. CrazyCookingCouple January 11, 2012 at 8:57 am

    Yummy breakfast! 🙂 Great way 2 celebrate National Oatmeal Month! You should link up on our blog and share the oatmeal and foodie holiday love! 🙂

  3. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean January 11, 2012 at 9:07 am

    yay for farro!!!!! so glad you tried it. i love it!

  4. peaceloveandoats January 11, 2012 at 9:30 am

    I can’t wait to see your dinner recipe, that looks delicious!

  5. Newly Wife Healthy Life January 11, 2012 at 9:47 am

    I haven’t tried it, never even heard of it! If it’s a lighter blend though I would probably like it better. I don’t usually order coffee there though, I am a skim latte girl 🙂

  6. Chelcie's Food Files January 11, 2012 at 10:15 am

    the breakfast cake sounds delicious!

  7. Sylvia @ Frolic Through Life January 11, 2012 at 11:35 am

    My mom makes mushroom croquettes and serves them along side red borsch. To die for!

  8. healthycollegegirl January 11, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    that breakfast cake looks AWESOME!! and that popcorn is like crack. we had a few bags at my house around christmas and i did some serious damage. sooo worth it haha
    i have never tried the blonde roast! i need to. i’m a sucker for ANY kind of coffee!

  9. Shanna, like Banana January 11, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    I just saw the Blonde Roast yesterday but in general I’m not a fan of Sbux brewed coffee, so I’ll probably pass.

    Love farro but have no idea how to really cook with it.

  10. Allison @ PickyEatingRD January 11, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    I just saw a commercial for the blonde roast yesterday and was wondering how it was. I think people go to Starbuck’s because they like the semi “burnt” taste. Well, at least I do. I wonder how the blonde will go over?!

  11. Melissa January 11, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    I need to pick up some blueberries! I love the look of your breakfast 😀

    I do like farro, but I always forget about it. I’m not much of a rice girl, but I love the chew of farro. Must put on list! (right next to blueberries 😉 )

  12. bhays2007 January 11, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    I’m definitely going to have to try that blueberry breakfast cake out when we buy some berries!

  13. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate January 11, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    I’ll be over for breakfast tomorrow!

  14. Jessica January 11, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    The breakfast cake looks awesome! Thanks for sharing the recipe…I think I know what I am having for breakfast tomorrow!

  15. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish January 12, 2012 at 2:06 am

    I *almost* bought the Blonde Roast Via’s when I was in Starbucks yesterday, but decided to wait for their tasting event tomorrow to try it out for free! I tend to like strong roasts, so I’m guessing it won’t be my favorite, but I’m secretly hoping I’ll like it so that I can drink coffee that matches my hair. ;-p

    Your breakfast cake looks delicious! I used to be in a morning egg rut, but lately I’ve been enjoying experimenting. I’ll definitely be trying this! xoxo

  16. Alexiasana January 12, 2012 at 8:14 am

    farro is great to cook with, i love the nuttiness! in italy i often made minestrone with farro. yum!

  17. Pingback: Roasted Vegetables with Farro and Kale « Live and Love to Eat

  18. caloricandcrazy January 14, 2012 at 11:14 am

    I love your dinner, it is indeed photogenic 😉

Leave a Reply

