Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Miscellaneous Monday

Hi friends!

Not much cooking has been happening in my kitchen lately – but there’s been no shortage of delicious eats.  I’ve been working out harder than usual (as evidenced on my fitness page) and I’ve been super hungry!  I’m trying to just eat based on hunger, not calories, and fuel my body MOSTLY with healthy foods.  Mostly. 😉

Last week’s weather was crazy!  Two days before we had snow, it was 50 degrees at lunch time, so I treat myself to some fro-yo to get away from my desk for a while:

image

Red Velvet Cake with pineapple, chocolate chips, and strawberries, and pumpkin cheesecake with sprinkles and graham cracker crumbles.

Thursday night, I went to dinner with my parents and brother for some hibachi & sushi (my husband works late on Thursdays).  Mom and I split “The Panda”, a drink with pineapple juice, vodka, sours, and Midori.  Sweet but delicious!

image

While everyone else had hibachi, I stuck with edamame and sushi.

image

Am I the only one who finds it impossible to get brown rice sushi anywhere but pre-made at the grocery store?

image

Sweet potato roll & avocado/smoked eel roll.  So good.

The husband and I ran a bunch of errands Friday night then caught Mark Wahlberg’s new movie, Contraband.  It was Adam’s first time at Chipotle!  I love their guac.

image

Veggie salad, covered in guacamole and salsa.  Adam kept saying he wished he could have had the burrito without the wrap – I gently reminded him that a burrito bowl is an option!  Now he knows for next time.

Sunday morning, after a great spin class with a friend, I had nothing planned and spent time making a leisurely breakfast – pumpkin ricotta pancakes.  Recipe to come soon!

image

I heard so many good things about Chobani’s new Apple Cinnamon flavor, and was thrilled to find it this weekend.  I toasted some raw oats (about 2 Tbsp) with some cooking spray, flax seed, and cinnamon to make a little “crumble” topping.

image

Now THIS tastes just like apple pie!

image

I’ve tragically been out of granola since last week, so today I took advantage of my day off and improved the perfect granola.  I thought it couldn’t be done.

image

This batch was even better!  I was out of eggs, so I subbed one flax “egg” (1 Tbsp flax seed, 3 Tbsp hot water) and pumped up the protein with 1 scoop protein powder dissolved in 1/4 cup almond milk.  I didn’t add ANY oil and decreased the brown rice syrup to 2 Tbsp (and added 4 drops vanilla stevia).  Lower in fat, higher in protein, and JUST as delicious. Catch the original recipe here.

Anyone have the number for granola addicts anonymous?

I’m looking forward to this week – Pittsburgh is hosting it’s very first restaurant week!  I’m honored to have been mentioned on Table Magazine’s blog by Brian Volmrich in connection with a blogger dinner planned for tomorrow night at Braddock’s Brasserie.  I’m hitting another restaurant tonight with my parents, and a third on Friday for dinner with Adam.  If I could afford it I’d try every single place!

Does your city have a restaurant week?  If I had unlimited time and money, I’d love to try all the great places that participate in NYC!

7 responses to “Miscellaneous Monday

  1. sprint2thetable January 16, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    Ohhhh… I’m going to try out your granola modifications. I am forever trying to make one with more protein and less sugar.

    My city has a restaurant week for every neighborhood! It’s crazy… but oh-so-delicious. 🙂

  2. Leanne @ The Skinny Architect January 16, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    I keep seeing the new Chobani flavors all of the blog world, I’ll have to track some down.

    I’m going to the blogger dinner too, I guess I’ll see you there!

  3. peaceloveandoats January 16, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    I have only seen brown rice sushi once! restaurants really need to get on this trend!

  4. Newly Wife Healthy Life January 16, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    Love your granola recipe! So healthy, and anyway I can add extra protein to my meals is a winner for me! We have a restaurant week in my city and all the meals this year cost $20.12, in honor of the year. We went to a steakhouse last year called The Chop House and it was so good, but it’s still hard to justify $50 for dinner on a random weeknight!

  5. Melissa January 16, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    It’s restaurant week in Ann Arbor, too! They do it twice a year–winter & summer, and I always hit it up!

    I just bought that chobani today. Love your crumble topping idea. May have to steal it! I had a pineapple chobani today that was perfection. 🙂

  6. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate January 16, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    I’m excited for the pancake recipe!

  7. Pingback: Pumpkin Ricotta Pancakes (Low Fat) « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

