Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Lightened Up – Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

My saturday was spent running errands and I suddenly wanted to cook a nice homemade dinner – and I wanted pasta.  I almost never crave carb-y meals (especially since my food overload on our honeymoon), so I just went with it!

I made a version of my favorite pasta sauce, roasted red pepper, that had a wonderfully creamy flavor without all of the fat in a restaurant sauce.

Roasted Red Pepper Pasta Sauce (Lightened Up)

  • 1 jar roasted red peppers, canned in water, drained
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup white onion, finely chopped
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup lite ricotta cheese
  1. Puree roasted red peppers (I used my Magic Bullet).
  2. Heat olive oil in a non-stick pan and sautee onions until soft and beginning to brown, 5-7 minutes. 
  3. Add minced garlic and stir for less than 1 minute, being careful not to let the garlic burn.
  4. Stir in roasted red pepper puree and cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add salt to taste.
  5. Remove from heat and stir in ricotta cheese – serve immediately with pasta of choice.

Makes approximately 2 cups of creamy, dreamy, cheesy sauce.  Made even more decadent with a touch of really good quality parmesan.

Approximate nutrition (per 1/2 cup serving, sauce only): 50 calories, 4 grams carbs, 3 gram fat, 3 grams protein

Remember my husband’s quotes about his birthday dinner?

I made these “fries” from a rutabaga, and was told, “These potatoes taste funny.”

They’re not potatoes, dear.

I chopped the rutabaga and tossed the “fries” with some olive oil and rosemary, then roasted them for almost 40 minutes.  So savory and delicious – my husband forgave the “funny” taste once they were dipped in ketchup.

I had plans for a spinach souffle on the side, but didn’t have any eggs – instead a made a quick roux with skim milk, butter, and flour, and stirred in some fontina with chopped spinach.  Baked with some breadcrumbs on top = quick and delicious.

I could have eaten the entire dish – but stopped at half.  The leftovers were a delicious spread on Wasa crackers for a healthy snack yesterday!

What’s your favorite pasta sauce? 

19 responses to “Lightened Up – Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

  1. blogitness January 17, 2012 at 11:11 am

    Your sauce sounds delicious and easy-to-make! I’m probably going to have to try it sometime!

  2. sprint2thetable January 17, 2012 at 11:18 am

    Great idea for a sauce! I love that you used the Magic Bullet too. My go-to is making a tomato-based sauce with San Marzano tomatoes. From there I add whatever I have in the fridge – carrots, celery, onion, basil, oregano, etc. My only requirement is that it include some red pepper flakes. I’m obsessed with the heat. 🙂

  3. Melissa January 17, 2012 at 11:28 am

    That sauce sounds fantastic! I don’t eat a lot of pasta, but every once in a while I love Bolognese. Very indulgent!

  4. Jenn January 17, 2012 at 11:54 am

    Love this! I’ve never thought of adding red peppers! I’m going to have to try this. I’m sure it’s a wonderful flavor on pasta.

  5. peaceloveandoats January 17, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    simple marinara is my favorite!

  6. loftyappetite January 17, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    the roasted red pepper sauce sounds fantastic! I can’t wait to give it a try. such a fun (not to mention sneaky, for a man afraid of veggies) way to spice up boring marinara sauce!

  7. Stephanie January 17, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    I just found your blog and wanted to say hello! Your recipes look great! I can’t wait to try your breakfast cake :).

  8. Newly Wife Healthy Life January 17, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    I love Alfredo (which is saved for special occasions, the full-fat rich version at least..:-) and basic marinara! So simple, but so good!

  9. honeywhatscooking January 17, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    Your pasta looks so delicious. I’ve seen Ellie Krieger make something like this without ricotta. I once roasted Red Pepper and my smoke alarm went off in my 780 sq foot apartment – SO ANNOYING! I like the jar idea 🙂 Oh and my favorite pasta sauce is Barilla – the one with Olives, and I also like Classico – Marinara.

  10. allieksmith January 17, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    Mmm, your pasta looks great! I just saw a special on rutabaga in a magazine! I’m going to have to try it because it’s in season!!

  11. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance January 17, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    I love rutabaga fries! You should try coating them in nut butter first to make nut crusted rutabaga fried! I’ve actually never made them myself, but I’ve seen them on blogs all over and they look amazing.

  12. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish January 18, 2012 at 2:10 am

    I’ve been meaning to try rutabaga and parsnip fries for a looong time, but it hasn’t happened yet! I’m hoping this post provided enough inspiration for me me to actually do it. 🙂

    Your roasted red pepper sauce sounds amazing! I love roasted pepper anything, but my favorite pasta sauce is pesto-alfredo. They’re a knockout combination!

  13. Bailee Morris January 18, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    I have got to try your red pepper sauce!

  14. Pingback: Pumpkin Ricotta Pancakes (Low Fat) « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

