Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Restaurant Week WIAW

Peas and Crayons

Instead of focusing on the fact that my breakfast looks disgusting and my lunch looks like something a third grader would find in their lunchbox, let’s focus on the progression to a beautiful dinner courtesy of Chef Brian Volmrich from Braddock’s Pittsburgh.

Breakfast, 7 am (at work):

image

Chocolate strawberry overnight oats – with Chobani, chia seeds, Green Superfood powder, dark chocolate cocoa powder, sliced strawberries, and perfect granola.

Lunch, 12:15 (at work):

image

My stomach isn’t used to super rich food and I wanted something simple after our decadent meal at Elements.  PB&Co Cinnamon Raisin peanut butter and sliced banana on light wheat toast…. and the rest of the banana on the side.

image

Veggies? Check.

image

Sweet, warm tea:

image

Dinner, 7 pm:

image

Chef Brian’s Pittsburgh Small Plate Sampler: Strip District Kielbasa, Braised Short Rib Pierogie (with delicious artichoke spread underneath), and homemade potato gnocchi with lobster.  Of course I only sampled the gnocchi, but the ladies at our table raved about all of the dishes (my meating-eating Polish husband would have loved them too!).

image

Although the pre-fixe restaurant week menu sounded delicious, I opted out and got the beet and goat cheese salad with a crabcake on the side.  See the top left hand side of the plate?  Warm, fried goat cheese.  Oh my heavens, so amazing.  I’ve had this salad combination at many restaurants but I loved the thin slices of beets and pistacios sprinkled on the salad. 

Chef Brian came and out and introduced himself after the meal.  He told us about various challenges he’s faced – like having two vegetarians show up for Thanksgiving dinner.  He’s also accomodated vegans, making a 5 course special meal.  Next time I’ll call in advance and see what he has up his sleeve!

For better photos (I forgot my camera) and a complete writeup, visit Table Magazine, or my dining partner (and new local blogger friend)’s blog Skinny Architect.  🙂

Do you ask restaurants to accomodate your special dietary needs, or do you choose to dine out only at places where you know they’ll be met?

22 responses to “Restaurant Week WIAW

  1. healthydivaeatskatie January 18, 2012 at 8:31 am

    Glad the dinner went well, sad I missed out, we were house hunting until 8pm! We actually looked at a house near the bmw dealeshi your husband works at, but didn’t like it. Hope to see you soon!

  2. Stephanie January 18, 2012 at 8:34 am

    First of all, I just had a breakfast very similar to yours. Secondly, I am like Meg Ryan in When Harry Met Sally when I go to restaurants. I am not shy! Luckily, my husband is very patient. Have a great day!

  3. Melissa January 18, 2012 at 8:47 am

    Goat cheese and beets are a match made in heaven. Add pistachios? Bliss!!!

    I don’t have any special dietary needs, per se, but I’m not afraid to ask for fish cooked dry or steamed veggies rather than having them coated in oil and butter. Most places are very willing to accommodate those requests!

  4. Newly Wife Healthy Life January 18, 2012 at 9:00 am

    I am pretty open to trying anything, but I am not afraid to ask for changes! I may order broccoli instead of fries, or a sauce on the side. My biggest pet peeve? Ordering a salad with the dressing on the side, but when I get it, there’s a half cup of dressing sm

  5. Newly Wife Healthy Life January 18, 2012 at 9:01 am

    I am pretty open to trying anything, but I am not afraid to ask for changes! I may order broccoli instead of fries, or a sauce on the side. My biggest pet peeve? Ordering a salad with the dressing on the side, but when I get it, there’s a half cup of dressing smothered on top! If I ordered a salad, I am looking to eat light. If I wasn’t, I would have ordered the spinach artichoke dip instead! 🙂

  6. Mattie @ Comfy and Confident January 18, 2012 at 9:48 am

    I will ask the restaurant to do simple things, like dressing on the side, etc. But I need to get better at being more assertive because sometimes I get my meal and it is covered in oil or I get fries instead of the side salad I really wanted.

  7. Kelly @ Laughter, Strength, and Food January 18, 2012 at 10:06 am

    That tea looks amazing! I will definitely have to try and find it!

  8. sprint2thetable January 18, 2012 at 11:31 am

    I love banana sandwiches! It’s been way too long since I’ve had one.

    I have found that chefs are often quite willing to accommodate vegetarians for these special dinners if you call ahead. It’s surprised me, but some are even hosting all-veg dinners in ATL.

  9. Lauren January 18, 2012 at 11:37 am

    I have never thought to add cocoa powder to overnight oats but now I’m going to. They look absolutely delicious.

  10. teabagginit January 18, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    i AM that person that changes everything on the dish. i know it’s super annoying, but if i’m going to pay for a meal, i want to enjoy it. plus, the restaurant is actually saving money because i never want the cheese, nuts, cream sauce, etc. think of all the money they save in salad dressing! 🙂

  11. peaceloveandoats January 18, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    I’m allergic to gluten and soy, so I always have to ask questions. Usually people are pretty helpful, although I have had several waiters/waitresses who just didn’t care

  12. honeywhatscooking January 18, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    oh how I love peanut butter and banana on toast. It is my most favorite combination. SO healthy.

  13. totesmyoats January 18, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    I will often ask for vegetables to substitute something like a white rice but that’s about it!

  14. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate January 18, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    Good crab cakes are the best. Drooling right now.

  15. Jessica January 19, 2012 at 12:56 am

    Your dinner looks amazing! Almost too pretty to eat!

  16. Emily January 19, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    I had no clue about Pittsburgh’s Restaurant Week, thanks to you I’m having dinner at one of the participating restaurants tomorrow! Look forward to more of your restaurant reviews!

Leave a Reply

