Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Lightened Up Mozzarella Sticks

So it’s been long enough now that I think I can talk about it.

Football season is over.  Not really, but to me it is, and has been since the Steelers lost two weeks ago. 

It’s nice of them though – since we have one the most superbowls of any team (six), we may as well let someone else have some fun once in a while.

Anyway, these are superbowl-snack worthy.  And under 100 calories a piece.

Take that, Tebow.

In researching methods for baking these mozzarella sticks, all of the tips centered around preventing the cheese from “oozing” while baking, including freezing the sticks for an hour before preparation.

Check!

I blended up a mix of breadcrumbs, paprika, Italian seasoning, and parmesan – just for good measure.

Line up your roll/dip/roll stations, similar to anything you want to bake “fry”.

No oozing yet!

Oh well, they oozed.  But just to warm and melty, not runny, making them still perfectly dippable.

In the world’s classiest homemade tomato sauce.

Give me a break, I had already baked buffalo chickpea dip and made some lentil sloppy joes.  These turned out to be just as delicious as the deep fried ones I used to order out at restaurants, but you can actually feel good about eating them.

Lightened Up Mozzarella Sticks

  • 1 package mozzarella string cheese (I used Sargento Light)
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2/3 cup plain breadcrumbs
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 Tbsp parmesan cheese
  1. Unwrap string cheese and place in freezer for at least 1 hour.
  2. Pre-heat oven to 350.
  3. Prepare three stages of breading – flour in one dish, egg in the next, breadcrumb and remaining ingredients in the last.
  4. Coat each frozen cheese stick with flour and tap to remove any access.
  5. Lightly dip in egg, roll in breadcrumb mixture, and place on sprayed baking sheet.  Lightly spray with cooking spray to help the sticks brown as they cook.
  6. Bake 15-20 minutes, until slightly browned (and beginning to ooze).

Approximate nutrition (per stick): 98 calories, 4 grams fat, 8 grams carbs, 8 grams of protein

Will you have (or attend) a super bowl party if you’re team doesn’t make it to the big game?  Like I said, the season is over as far as I’m concerned – but it wouldn’t hurt to see Baltimore lose. 😉

I’m going to Habitat tonight with my husband for my third Pittsburgh restaurant week adventure – it’s been a blast!  Some of my readers said they checked out some restaurants too – I’d love to post their restaurant reviews if they’d like to share!

19 responses to “Lightened Up Mozzarella Sticks

  1. sprint2thetable January 20, 2012 at 8:35 am

    Being Southern, I’m a big college football fan and know nothing about pro. Admittedly, I am one of those people who watches the Super Bowl for the commercials… and for snacks like this, of course. 🙂

  2. beth @ a latte inspiration January 20, 2012 at 8:58 am

    Those look extremely yummy Claire. For some reason it never dawned on me that string cheese=mozzarella sticks lol Have fun at Habitat tonight! 😉

  3. Newly Wife Healthy Life January 20, 2012 at 9:05 am

    Yum! Those look awesome! I wonder what the trick is for the cheese not to ooze out?! I want to make them for a super bowl party for sure. Oh, and I’ll ignore the Tebow comment! 😉 After last week’s loss, I would say Broncos fans have been through enough?! Ha ha

  4. peaceloveandoats January 20, 2012 at 9:31 am

    I used to eat mozzarella sticks all the time as a kid! Soooo good.

  5. Jessica @ Stylish Stealthy and Healthy January 20, 2012 at 9:47 am

    I love mozzarella sticks, I have to try these. This could be dangerous.

  6. Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries January 20, 2012 at 10:07 am

    brilliant! these look delicious, and i love that they’re much healthier than its original. yum!

  7. Mattie @ Comfy and Confident January 20, 2012 at 10:24 am

    this is amazing! I wouldn’t feel that bad making these because you know they will all get eaten in one sitting!

  8. Kelly @ Laughter, Strength, and Food January 20, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    I’m right with you! I can officially say that I have rooted for the Patriots twice…once for them to beat Tebow and now for them to beat Baltimore.

    I laughed out loud when I read, “Take that, Tebow” up above. 😀

  9. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes January 20, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    That’s awesome! I bet a little nutritional yeast would be yummy in the seasoning too!

  10. Kathryn @ Flopoodle January 20, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    These look so good!!! I love mozzarella sticks but rarely get them because I think they’re unhealthy, but these are much healthier.

  11. Melissa January 20, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    Unless I get invited somewhere, I probably won’t even watch! I’m a college football girl, all the way! But I do love superbowl food! 😉

  12. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate January 20, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    I know you posted these just for me 🙂 They look fabulous!

  13. caloricandcrazy January 20, 2012 at 10:14 pm

    100 calories mozzarella sticks?! NICE!!

  14. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish January 21, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    Mozzarella sticks are my *favorite* football-food appetizer! I think I’ll be making these this Sunday for the Giants-49ers game! And yes, it’s very nice of you Steelers to share some playoff space with those teams that have been in the basement for yeeears (*cough 49ers*)! ;-p

  15. Emily P January 21, 2012 at 3:50 pm

    i’m glad to hear you’re supporting a ravens loss since i will be also as a patriots fan 🙂 i’ve loved reading your reviews so far. i’ve had a difficult time deciding on what restaurant i’m going to tonight because i need some vegetarian/fish options for myself and heartier meat options for my boyfriend..

  16. Pamela @ Pamcakes and Coffee January 22, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    Yum!! I just bookmarked this recipe. It is the perfect appetizer, and I’m sure it would be a hit with everybody!

  17. Hayley (Oat Couture) January 23, 2012 at 11:02 am

    These look freakin amazing!!! I would definitely watch football if it meant I got to eat these!! 🙂

  18. Soo [Little Miss Fitness] January 23, 2012 at 11:17 am

    are you kidding me?! these look amazing…so glad you posted this, claire!! now my mouth is watering…

  19. Jamie @ Food in Real Life January 24, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    This is SUCH a good idea. I may have to make them this weekend (or tomorrow)

Leave a Reply

