Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Enchilada Style Stuffed Peppers

I make enchiladas all the time (classic, lightened up, and vegetarian enchiladas verdes) .  Mexican is one of my favorite cuisines, and it’s so easy to customize it for meat eaters and still make myself something deliciously vegetarian.  I was in the mood for stuffed peppers last week, but they always end up being just okay, never incredibly delicious.  I was planning to add cheese to my regular recipe to jazz them up, then decided to just make them in to a Mexican style stuffed pepper.

I bought a package of three red/yellow/orange bell peppers and a pack of 2 regular green peppers from Trader Joe’s.  The green ones were the size of softballs, so I cut them in half and got two from each!

Browned, seasoned, and drained ground beef mixed with brown rice.

Topped with enchilada sauce (instead of tomato) and some shredded cheese.

Vegetarian version for me – with TJ’s “meatless ground”, which my tummy unfortunately was not a fan of. I don’t think TVP & I get along very well.

But they sure did look pretty.

Enchilada Style Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients

  • 4 bell peppers, tops & cores removed
  • ~ 1 lb lean ground beef (or meat substitute)
  • 1 tsp fajita seasoning
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese, divided (I used a mix of cheddar and colby jack)
  • 1 large can of enchilada sauce (or this recipe)
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1/2 cup black beans, cooked (or canned)
  • 1/2 cup corn kernels, cooked (or canned)
  • optional: onions, peppers
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Brown meat in a skillet, drain excess fat, and season with 1 tsp fajita seasoning.
  3. Sautee corn, beans, and additional vegetables, if using. 
  4. Combine cooked rice, meat, and vegetables, mixing well.
  5. Stir 1/4 cup of cheese into rice, meat, and veggie mixture.
  6. Scoop 1/4 of the mixture in to each pepper and set in sprayed baking dish.  If desired, cut peppers in half and divide mixture into 8 servings.
  7. Bake, covered, for 40 minutes – remove from oven, top with remaining cheese, and bake an additional 5-10 minutes, until cheese melts.
  8. Serve and enjoy!

Approximate nutrition, per pepper, with ground beef: 275 calories, 39 grams carbs, 6 grams fat, 19 grams protein

I never get tired of Mexican.  What is one cuisine that you could eat every single day?

18 responses to “Enchilada Style Stuffed Peppers

  1. Melissa January 24, 2012 at 9:13 am

    Ooh, I love Mexican, too! I could definitely eat it daily!

  2. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean January 24, 2012 at 9:14 am

    fun idea! i love coming up with creative ways to stuff peppers!

  3. sprint2thetable January 24, 2012 at 9:38 am

    Great idea! I love stuffed peppers, but never think to make them for some reason. That’s too bad about TVP – I recently tried it and really liked it as a sub for ground beef.

  4. Kelly @ Laughter, Strength, and Food January 24, 2012 at 9:47 am

    I’m with you on the Mexican! So quick and easy to customize!

    I could eat big Italian dinners every day. I am a carb and pasta lover and don’t try to hide it! 😉

  5. Jessica @ Stylish Stealthy and Healthy January 24, 2012 at 10:23 am

    that’s a great twist on stuffed peppers, I definitely have to try these!

  6. Annie @ Naturally Sweet Recipes January 24, 2012 at 10:34 am

    YUM! These look delicious. I love stuffed pepper recipes. Brilliant idea!

  7. Paige @ Running Around Normal January 24, 2012 at 10:43 am

    I haven’t made stuffed peppers in forever! The prices should be coming down on them soon, too!

  8. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate January 24, 2012 at 10:59 am

    I love Mexican!

    I think I could eat breakfast for three meals a day and never get tired of it!

  9. Pamela @ Pamcakes and Coffee January 24, 2012 at 11:44 am

    This is another great recipe! I love enchiladas, and I haven’t made stuffed peppers in a while. I’m on such a Mexican food kick recently!! I would probably eat sushi every single day if I could. It’s my favorite! 🙂

  10. Hannah @ Eat, Drink and Save Money January 24, 2012 at 11:48 am

    I love mexican too. I really could eat it several times a day. I had never thought of doing mexican stuffed peppers. Genius!

  11. Lisa @ experiencelifewithme January 24, 2012 at 11:51 am

    I loved stuffed bell peppers, but my boyfriend isn’t a fan of peppers. I may have to make him enchiladas and put my filling in peppers instead. The best of both worlds!

  12. teabagginit January 24, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    oh! i have extra enchilada sauce after my tamale casserole! i know where it’s going now!

  13. Ellie@Fit for the Soul January 24, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    Mmmmm delicious! I know what you mean by how easily you can customize Mexican food! One thing I wanna learn however, is tamales. I have no idea how to make ’em! 😛 I know Mexican food is def. one of the ones I could eat everyday, so long as it’s on the lighter side most of the time. (sensitive stomach)

  14. Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries January 24, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    oh man, i’m right there with ya on LOVING mexican cuisine! i could easily eat it every single day. i’ve never tried mexican style stuffed peppers – great idea! we’re having “healthified” loaded nachos tonight for dinner – can’t wait for it! 😉

  15. peaceloveandoats January 24, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    These look so good! I’ve been craving mexican!

  16. totesmyoats January 24, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    Yum! I never get tired of Mexican or Italian!

  17. Pingback: Inspired Eats | Live and Love To Eat

Leave a Reply

