Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Crustless Quiche Cups (WIAW)

Good morning friends!  A quick recipe to share with you as part of my “What I Ate Wednesday”.  Want to join the party?  Link up over at Peas and Crayons!

I wanted a break from oatmeal for breakfast this week, but typically don’t have time to make eggs in the morning before leaving for work – enter portable, re-heatable crustless quiches!

You can pretty much throw together any combination of eggs, cheese, and veggies to make these work! 

image

I used:

  • 2 whole eggs + 4 egg whites
  • 1 cup spinach, sauteed
  • 1/2 cup orange bell pepper, chopped & sauteed
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped & sauteed
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used almond)
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese
  • Pre-heat oven to 350.
  1. Lightly beat eggs, egg whites, and milk until combined.
  2. Spray muffin tins with cooking spray (generously!)
  3. Divide cooked vegetables among 6 muffins tins.
  4. Pour egg mixture on top of vegetables, filling 3/4 way full.
  5. Top each with about 1.5-2 tsp cheese.
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until centers are set.  Allow to cool in tins before removing.

Makes 6 crustless quiche cups.  Approximate nutrition per cup: 55 calories, 3 grams fat, 5 grams protein.

Breakfast:

6:30 am, after the gym: banana with peanut butter

8:30 am, at work: 2 crustless egg cups

image

Lunch, 12:30 pm, at work:

Veggie “taco salad” – crumbled veggie burger, homemade salsa, 1/4 of an avocado.  Ugly?  Yes.  Delicious?  Most definitely.

image

Snackage, 2:30 pm:

My favorite hummus and baby carrots.

image

More snacks, 4pm:

Greek yogurt and blueberries!

image

Dinner, 6:45 pm:

Trader Joe’s sushi – thanks to my husband!  Also some unpictured edamame.  Leftovers for lunch today, yay!

image

I have a huge box of Costco blueberries at home – I’ve been eating them in yogurt and oats, but need some good blueberry recipes (preferably healthy).  What’s your favorite use for blueberries?

14 responses to “Crustless Quiche Cups (WIAW)

  1. sprint2thetable January 25, 2012 at 10:34 am

    Those crustless quiches look awesome! I make something similar I call “eggfins.” they are great to make on Sunday and have in the fridge for a quick re-heat breakfast throughout the week.

    My favorite way to eat blueberries is hot hot oatmeal because I love how juicy they get! Other wise… I really like them in grain salads too. I did one with blueberries and cilantro a while back that was awesome.

  2. Caitlin January 25, 2012 at 11:18 am

    I eat blueberries with cottage cheese or greek yogurt almost every day, def my fave use for them! I adore roasted garlic hummus, I buy the Cedar’s brand. Never tried TJ’s brand, but have had their horseradish hummus, YUM. Those mini egg quiches are so cute, I have totally made those before, got the idea from The Chic Life (Diana). You know what makes them really good – if you squirt in some spicy brown mustard. Yup, it works! Reminds me of deviled eggs!

  3. Hannah @ Eat, Drink and Save Money January 25, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    Freeze a cup of them and a banana (sliced). Put them in the food processor until it has a sorbet consistency. Easy and healthy!

  4. Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries January 25, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    i love blueberries in muffins, pancakes or waffles, and in smoothies!! all can easily be made healthy too!

  5. allieksmith January 25, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    Mmm, quiche cups seem like a great & easy breakfast idea!

  6. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean January 25, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    ahhh blueberry scones! i can send you my recipe if you want. i WILL get around to posting it soon!

  7. peaceloveandoats January 25, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    I love putting blueberries in my greek yogurt! Definitely my favorite way to use them!

  8. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish January 26, 2012 at 1:09 am

    I love making mini quiches/frittatas and freezing them for quick grab-n-go meals! My favorite combination is spinach, parmesan and cottage cheese. Maybe I’ll try mixing up the ingredients next time. 🙂

    I really enjoy blueberries in pancakes and muffins, however nothing beats fresh blueberry pie!

  9. Pingback: Creamy Cruciferous Soup « Live and Love to Eat

  10. Pingback: Friday Link Love + My Audition

  11. Pingback: Inspired Eats « Live and Love to Eat

  12. Pingback: Second Round WIAW « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

