Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Bread Pudding – Two Ways

image

My family is obsessed with bread.  It doesn’t matter how much we have at home – a new loaf of bland, white carbs shows up at least every other day.  Then we keep them all until after they are stale.  Our bread box is so full that the overflow gets stored in the microwave – we then proceed to remove it and stuff it back in every time we need to heat something.

Sigh.

But I love good raisin bread.  And my favorite cranberry walnut wheat loaf

image

I couldn’t let these raisin rolls go to waste.

image

Traditional Bread Pudding (serves 6-8)

  • 4 cups bread cubes
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 Tbsp butter, melted
  1. Spray baking dish and spread bread cubes in an even layer.
  2. Beat eggs, milk, and vanilla, then add sugar.  Pour over bread.
  3. Melt butter and drizzle over top of bread mixture.  Allow to soak while oven pre-heats to 375, or at least 15 minutes.
  4. Bake 30-40 minutes, until browned and puffy, depending on the depth of your pudding.  

image

Pumpkin Protein Bread Pudding (makes 2 individual servings)

  • 1 cup bread cubes (whole wheat raisin)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 4-5 drops vanilla stevia
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  1. Pre-heat oven to 375. 
  2. Press bread cubes into sprayed, oven-safe ramekins.
  3. Lightly beat egg whites, then add stevia, pumpkin, milk and protein powder.
  4. Pour mixture over bread and mix to combine. 
  5. Bake 15-20 minutes, or until browned and puffy.

image

The mixture is thicker and does not soak into the bread as well, but still tastes delicious! 

image

Approximate nutrition information (per serving, pumpkin version): 244 calories, 28 g carbs, 4 grams fat, 16 grams protein

Are you a fan of bread pudding?  It’s not an appetizing name, and it seems like “grandma food”, but I love it. 😉

10 responses to “Bread Pudding – Two Ways

  1. sprint2thetable January 27, 2012 at 10:08 am

    I LOVE bread pudding. I only eat it around the holidays – this year I made a rum pumpkin bread pudding that I had to give away because I couldn’t be trusted with it in the house. With your lightened up version I could keep it around though! 🙂

    P.S. I did your quiz today! Thanks for the tag.

  2. foodsweatandbeers January 27, 2012 at 10:21 am

    Mmmm I love bread pudding, creamy and delicious. My favorite nearby restaurant does a bread pudding made with croissants and a bourbon glaze that just butters my biscuit every time. Decadent? Definitely. Might wanna try your pumpkin protein BP next time for an at-home treat!

  3. Heather January 27, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Bread of any kind is my weakness. I had a krispy kreme bread pudding recently but it was made with low fat items to counter act the glazed sweetness and it was AMAZING!

  4. totesmyoats January 27, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    I am a big fan of bread pudding. I don’t make is so often but I don’t know why because it really is a dessert that I love!

  5. Shanna like Banana January 27, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    I love bread pudding. Love!

    I need to experiment more with it.

  6. Cait's Plate January 27, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    I’ve never actually had bread pudding but just looking at how delicious this looks I think I can definitely consider myself a fan!

    Also, cranberry walnut wheat loaf?! That sounds incredible!

  7. allieksmith January 27, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    This may sound crazy…. but I’ve never had bread pudding!

  8. Melissa January 27, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    I used to work in a cajun restaurant that had bourbon bread pudding. It was so decadent! Bread pudding isn’t usually my first choice, but every now and then I really enjoy it!

  9. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate January 27, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    I actually don’t think I’ve ever had bread pudding. #mustfixthis

  10. Newly Wife Healthy Life January 28, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    I love bread pudding and like it piping hot! I have only ever had chocolate bread pudding, but the pumpkin protein looks like a nice healthier version!

Leave a Reply

