Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Inspired Eats

Good morning!

I love reading Friday favorites posts when some of my favorite bloggers link up to recipes from other blogs – it’s great for inspiration and overloading my poor Google Reader.

Here’s what I’ve tried recently:

Low-Fat Blueberry Scones [Skinnytaste]

I mentioned that I had blueberries to use up, and these scones were pretty good nutritionally – but the taste was only so-so.  It was the first Skinnytaste recipe I’ve tried that wasn’t a home run.

Dinner last Thursday was comprised of tofu and leftover roasted veggies – I made peanut sauce for the tofu with the simplest recipe ever:

4 ingredient healthy peanut sauce [Daily Garnish]

image

Emily’s recipe was incredibly simple and made dinner come together in about 20 minutes.

My crustless egg cups/quiches with avocado toast [Confessions of a Chocoholic]:

image

I made a second batch after enjoying the first ones so much – and seeing how great they were nutritionally!  I used a whole package of frozen spinach this time around and made 12 (using 2 whole eggs + 8 whites).  I’ve read about avocado toast on Bianca’s blog and had one on it’s last legs – why would anyone ever use butter again?

Oh my gosh, this one is so simple – why haven’t I tried it before?

Almond meal/flour in greek yogurt [italktofood]:

image

image

I saw this on Aubrey’s blog several times before trying it myself – and wish I wouldn’t have waited!  The almond meal is a great alternative to cereal or yogurt, which can be too crunchy – it adds protein and healthy fats and an amazing flavor.

Layered Mexican Pizza Lasagna [Peas and Crayons]

image

I got this idea from Jenn’s blog a while back and it was the perfect opportunity to use it when I made beef enchiladas for the rest of my family.  My veggie dish had crumbled tempeh, three kinds of peppers, mushrooms, enchilada sauce, corn tortillas, and reduced fat cheddar.  So satisfying!

image

Fish tacos thrown together from Mexican leftovers and extra fish from an Italian restaurant the husband and I went to Friday night.  Quick, easy, delicious.  Like I said, I could eat Mexican at least once a day.

Hippie Cookies [Running To the Kitchen]

image

After Gina eluded to these cookies and didn’t share the recipe until Friday, I had to try them right away!

I made a few changes (less oil, more applesauce, subbed in date syrup for some maple syrup, forgot the lemon zest) – but they were delicious and packed with wholesome ingredients.  My husband asked why I don’t make “normal” cookies, but ate 3 of these anyway.

image

After I get a workout in, I’m planning on making some of Laura’s [Sprint 2 The Table] zucchini bread oatmeal.

What’s the best recipe you’ve tried recently?  

21 responses to “Inspired Eats

  1. Lindsay @ Lindsay's List January 30, 2012 at 8:24 am

    The Pizza Lasagna looks amazing!! Putting it on the meal plan (which I haven’t come up with yet).

  2. sprint2thetable January 30, 2012 at 8:40 am

    That all looks so good! I want to come eat at your house. Jenn’s lasagna pizza has been on my list of a long, long time. Needs to happen ASAP!

    Let me know how you like the zucchini oats! 🙂

  3. Newly Wife Healthy Life January 30, 2012 at 8:59 am

    It looks like you’ve been busy in the kitchen! I hadn’t seen that Mexican Pizza post, but it is funny because I made something very similar last night! The hippie cookies look like a healthy treat I want to try!!

  4. Gina @ Running to the Kitchen January 30, 2012 at 10:41 am

    Haha, my husband says the same thing all the time but then proceeds to pop 3 or 4 in his mouth before dinner anyway. Men…
    Glad you liked them! Thanks for link love 🙂

  5. peaceloveandoats January 30, 2012 at 11:20 am

    That’s a lot of recipe experimentation! Awesome! The best recipe I’ve tried out recently was egg white oats from Julie Go Lean! I’m in LOVE!

  6. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish January 30, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    I LOVE the idea of adding almond meal to Greek yogurt! I have a huge bag hanging out in my fridge, so I’m going to give it a try this afternoon. Thanks for sharing the idea!

    The best recipe I’ve made recently is oat flour banana bread. I was a little weary about using oat flour, as I thought it might be too heavy, but it turned out great!

  7. Shanna like Banana January 30, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    Have you made the Chobani scones? So so good!

  8. honeywhatscooking January 30, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    Haha.. your husband asked why you don’t make normal cookies… that’s the story of my life. He’s always asking me why I can’t make a full fat recipe, I just can’t use 1 stick of butter in a dozen cookies. I feel so bad. One of my favorite recipes recently are my Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with blueberry topping (part-skim ricotta)… they turned out really good.
    🙂

  9. Baking Serendipity January 30, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    I love Friday favorites too. And I especially loved finding the list of links here on a Monday! Total surprise 🙂

  10. Aubrey (Italktofood) January 31, 2012 at 10:23 am

    Yay! So happy you like my creation. Fresh blueberries sound delicious in it.

    Thanks for linking my blog girl 🙂

  11. Jamie @ Food in Real Life January 31, 2012 at 11:43 am

    The best recipe I’ve tried lately is the no knead bread from Sullivan Street Bakery. It was so easy I couldn’t get over it. Here’s the recipe- and I posted a pic of my version on my blog (which actually looks better than the pic they used) http://www.sullivanstreetbakery.com/recipes. That peanut sauce sounds great- I love DG’s simple recipes.

  12. teabagginit January 31, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    thanks for all the links! gave me more ideas for dinner! i just baked heab’s oaties in bar form and they were awesome! my g’parents ate them up!

  13. Pingback: Second Round WIAW « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a Reply

