Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Buttermilk Waffles

When I’m looking for a recipe, I don’t do anything fancy.  I don’t consult the index of the 30+ cookbooks in my kitchen.  I don’t page through the stack of CookingLight Magazines gathering dust on my shelf.  I go to Google.

With most of a quart of low-fat buttermilk still in my fridge, I was getting nervous – I hate to not use up dairy products (we’ve discussed this before).  Since my (Alton’s) cinnamon roll recipe only calls for 6 oz, I had the remainder of a quart hanging out on the door, taunting me every time I opened the fridge.

In Pittsburgh, I can’t seem to find buttermilk in any small quantity.  I know you can make milk into buttermilk by adding vinegar, but I’ve yet to see someone turn buttermilk back to regular milk.  Something has to be done.

Okay so that’s a little dramatic.  But I wanted to use the buttermilk.  And I wanted waffles – relatively healthy waffles.  So I Googled “low-fat buttermilk waffles” and found a recipe from ingredients, inc.  Does anyone read this blog?  It looks great!

I took the basic recipe and made some adjustments, of course.

Dry ingredients:

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup garbanzo bean flour (I’m kind of obsessed)

1 Tbsp Splenda blend (you could use 2 Tbsp regular sugar)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/4  tsp salt (I forgot omitted this)

Wet ingredients:

1 cup low-fat buttermilk

1 Tbsp vegetable oil (I resisted the urge to substitute something here)

1 egg (used 1/4 c egg whites)

2 Tbsp water (if you think the batter needs to be thinner)

image

+

image

=

image

image

Approximate nutrition (no toppings): 190 calories, 5g fat, 27g carbs, 8g protein

I was really happy with the way these turned out.  Light but substantial, with a decent nutritional profile.  I got 4 waffles from the mix but they didn’t quite stretch all the way to the corners of the waffle maker.  😉  I froze the leftovers to enjoy later in the week.  I see almond butter in their future.

Okay, math-wizzes: I had a quart of buttermilk.  I used 6 oz then I used 1 cup.  Result?  2+ cups remaining.

Translation = another buttermilk recipe coming tomorrow!

What’s your favorite buttermilk recipe?  

Where do you look for recipes?

17 responses to “Buttermilk Waffles

  1. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 11, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    I’m jealous of your waffle maker; I need to get one. I always want waffles or pancakes, but can’t do pancakes because I burn them on our stove every.single.time, so I figure an actual machine for the task of waffles would be great. 🙂

  2. Jenny May 11, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    I need a waffle maker asap. Your waffles look delicious. I love the strawberry topping.

  3. Alison @ Ingredients, Inc. May 11, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Thank you for posting! I appreciate it!

  4. allieksmith May 11, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    I laughed when you said that you have yet to see buttermilk be turned back to regular milk hahah .. thank you for pretty much making my day! 🙂

    Your waffles look gorgeous!

  5. Claire @ livingspreethegoodlife May 11, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    Ohh, I have had the craziest craving for waffles or pancakes. Yours look AMAzing!

  6. Daniella@runneratheart.com May 11, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    I love waffles I need to invest in a waffle maker ASAP.

  7. Pingback: eat what you want. « meals & moves

  8. Kate May 12, 2011 at 3:23 am

    I had no idea you could make buttermilk by adding vinegar! I assumed you had to add butter…ha. The waffles look fantastic and I have a brand new waffler maker ust itching to be used!

  9. Pingback: Summer of Love Series #1

  10. Pingback: Miscellaneous Monday « Live and Love to Eat

  11. Pingback: Lightened Up – Lemon Ricotta Muffins « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a comment