Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Lemon Curd Recipe and Chocolate for Breakfast

After yesterday’s WIAW post, I got a lot of feedback and questions about the homemade lemon curd I mentioned on my breakfast cookie.  First of all, some people hadn’t heard of the breakfast cookie – and I can’t take credit for the Fitnessista’s grand invention.  Secondly, the lemon curd was homemade, but not by me.  My wonderful aunt made it and gave us some as a gift, so I e-mailed her for the recipe to share it with all of you.

This morning’s cookie was a triple chocolate indulgence topped with greek yogurt and banana.  I made it in a deeper dish than usual, but wouldn’t recommend it – they work best in a shallow bowl or dish to get an even consistency.

image

image

I combined:

1/3 cup oats

1.5 Tbsp melted peanut butter

1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder

1 tsp dark chocolate cocoa powder

1/2 scoop chocolate Green Superfood

pinch salt

dash of vanilla

3 Tbsp soy milk

– Mushed all together and left in the fridge over night – topped this morning with 1/4 cup Fage 0% and 1/2 banana (forgive the awful lighting – my lovely cube!).

On to the recipe for this fabulous lemon curd – this is all that remains!

image

Aunt J’s Lemon Curd (courtesy of Cooking Light):

1 cup + 2 Tbsp sugar

1 Tbsp cornstarch

1/8 tsp salt

1 cup fresh lemon juice

3 large eggs

2 tablespoons butter

1 teaspoon grated lemon rind

1) Combine the sugar, cornstarch and salt in medium saucepan.

2) Add juice and eggs.  Bring mixture to a boil while whisking constantly.

3) Reduce heat and continue to stir until thickened, about 1 minute.

4) Remove pan from heat; add in butter and lemon rind, and stir until butter is melted. 

5) Cover and chill in refrigerator until completely cooled and thickened.

Makes about 1.5 cups.

Approximate nutrition for 1 tbsp serving: 35 calories, 1 g fat, 6g carbs, 0.5 g protein 

As you know I’ve enjoyed it on a plain breakfast cookie… but I’ve also been munching it with animal crackers, on muffins, and toast.  Everyone thought that the homemade curd sounded extravagant, but it’s really a simple recipe!

Do you have any simple recipes that fool others into thinking you’ve slaved in the kitchen for hours?

17 responses to “Lemon Curd Recipe and Chocolate for Breakfast

  1. hungryhealthyhappy May 19, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    That does look easy! I usually just buy lemon curd from TJ’s, but I think I could do this recipe! People always seem to think homemade ravioli or egg rolls are so hard, but it’s really just a matter of assembling them! I also make individual lava cakes that my family raves over, but they’re so super easy! 🙂

  2. Ada May 19, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    In my opinion chocolate is a total necessity every single morning:) That lemon curd looks amazing, thanks for sharing the recipe!

  3. Shanna, like Banana May 19, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Haha, I do 😉 I make some (“out of this world”) blondies that people can’t figure out, but they’re a super easy recipe.

    Same for my pumpkin soup.

  4. ihearteggs May 19, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Simple, but tasty looking!!!

    My coworker loves my banana bread muffins I make her… she thinks they take so long to make but honestly, SO EASY! ahaha

  5. Tiff May 19, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    Yup. People think my lasanga has more to it, but it’s fairly simple. I love those kinds of recipes!

  6. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish May 19, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    The moment I read the title of this post, I became giddy! I absolutely adore lemon curd! My grandma used to make large batches at Christmas and give jars as gifts. Her version was rich though (I believe the recipe calls for 1/4 lb. butter!), so I’m loving the Cooking Light version you posted here. I think I’m going to make a batch tonight!

    Happy Thursday!

  7. emily (a nutritionist eats) May 19, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Can you taste the green super food in your breakfast cookie?! I’m intruiged! 🙂

  8. allieksmith May 19, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    YUM! Simple, tasty, and original! Perfect 🙂

  9. Alexa @ Simple Eats May 19, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    Ah lemon curd sounds amazing! People think I worked forever when I make homemade tomato sauce, but it only takes about half an hour!

  10. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 19, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    That’s a great question – people always think my go-to brownie recipe takes hours, but it’s literally a 10 minute (at the max) process before baking.

    Your b-fast cookie looks good; I haven’t had one in forever because I’m all about the cookie dough cereal these days. 🙂

  11. kristina@beancakes May 19, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    i think i’ll have what you’re having for breakfast! and no, i don’t think that i can fool anyone with my all-too-simple-recipes. maybe i’m doing something wrong?! 😉

  12. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table May 19, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    Love those breakfast cookies! I’m excited for hot weather so I can eat overnight oats every day. 🙂

    My easy recipe: peanut butter “fudge” around the holidays. You just mix a jar of PB and a jar of icing. Melt, mix, and refrigerate. Then give some away so they you don’t eat the entire thing yourself!

  13. Jenny May 19, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Love the lemon curd, I think anything would pair up great with Gina’s cookie. Maybe I’ll make one again for tomorrow ;D

  14. Jenny @ Fitness Health and Food May 20, 2011 at 12:31 am

    ohh man! Both the cookie and the lemon curd look amazing! What a wonderful idea to combine the creamy yogurt, chocolate cookie, and lemony curd mmm mmm! 🙂

  15. inspirehealth16--Suzanne Williams May 20, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    I like simple. I’m not a cook, so it is nice to try simple things that taste amazing.
    Suzanne

Leave a comment