Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Breakfast Cookie A la mode

I owe so many new food/recipe discoveries to the blog world.  For this one in particular I’ve got to give credit to Jess and Clare for the basics of my attempted breakfast cookies.

Sunday night I made a combination of quick oats, almond butter, and cinnamon, and milk that turned out to be less than impressive.  So last night I took more specific notes from the girls’ posts and made a more serious attempt.

1/3 cup quick oats

1 Tbsp steel cut oats

1 Tbsp almond butter

1/2 scoop Designer Whey (french vanilla)

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 packet Splenda

pinch salt

…. mash mash mash away to incorporate the almond butter.  After this step I added a piece of a frozen (and microwaved) banana to help it hold together and add some sweetness.

image

The banana definitely improved the consistency and helped to mush together the ingredients.  We had no skim milk at home (gasp!), so I added some 2% (about 2 Tbsp) for an extra indulgent cookie. 😉

image

And then I got nervous, thinking I had over poured and it would be soggy.  Then I had a great idea….

image

Green Superfood (chocolate) to the rescue!  I have been using this on a regular basis during Lent to help satisfy my chocolate cravings.  It contains cocoa & the grassy taste isn’t overpowering.  Plus I love the dainty mini-scooper!  For only 30 calories, it packs a TON of nutrients!

image

Ahh, this texture seems much better – firm enough to shape with a fork.

image

I was really excited to try the cookie this morning.  For people who think their Green Monsters or homemade juices are ugly (like Julie’s barf bowl), check out this gross-looking “cookie”!

image

The texture was just grand, like an underbaked cookie.  Then I had ANOTHER stroke of genius…. every “dessert” is better with “ice cream” (notice the quotation marks).  Topped with some plain Fage, this made a fantastic, nutrient packed breakfast!  Mmmm, à la mode!

image

Approximate nutrition: 312 calories, 12 g fat, 41 g carbs, 12 g protein

You know what?  I’m feeling much less genius like.  This would have been phenomenal if I had thrown it in the microwave for a few seconds, making it a WARM cookie a la mode.  Ugh, I guess there’s always tomorrow!  And cocoa nibs… or nuts…

Although the fat content is a bit higher than I would like, it definitely keeps me satisfied until lunchtime.  I might cut back the almond butter to 1/2 Tbsp tomorrow.

On an unrelated note, my ankle is still awful.  I try to keep it elevated and iced at work, but walking to and from the bus stop is miserable.  I hobble around like Igor or the hunchback of Notre Dame.  My fiance’ is driving me in and picking me up from work tomorrow, but I am already dreading the hobble to the bus stop at 4:30.

Anyone have good advice for ankle sprains?   Not working out and being in pain have me at my wit’s end. 

xo

C

9 responses to “Breakfast Cookie A la mode

  1. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) April 12, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    Yum! I’m definitely going to try Amazing Grass in my next breakfast cookie. I love it and think it would taste great!

    Aw, I hope your ankle feels better soon! I’ve had the best luck with ice and rest. Sorry it’s nothing too helpful. :-/

  2. kristina@beancakes April 12, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    nice post, love these breakfast cookies, i haven’t made one in some time although. i like how you did the pink frame outlines on all your photos, super cute! with regard to your ankle, maybe load up with some great magazines, good movies and get outside for a bit, even if it’s for a drive! nothing beats some good old “stinkin” fresh air right?

  3. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries April 12, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    I have yet to make a breakfast cookie. Ever. I really need to change this. I hope your ankle feels better soon 🙂

  4. simplynutritiouskate April 12, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    I LOVE underbaked cookies anything doughy and im smitten this cookie sounds amazing and the addition of a la mode omg yum!

  5. allieksmith April 13, 2011 at 2:14 am

    Mmm, breakfast + cookie sounds good in my book 🙂
    I love how creative you are with food!!

  6. Can You Stay for Dinner April 13, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    I need to experiment with this for breakfast. Somehow I think my morning would be infinitely more fun if I were eating cookies a la mode. Thanks for the idea 🙂

    Wish I had advice about ankles 🙂

  7. Pingback: Long Weekend Recap « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a comment