Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Frustration

Call me a fool (please don’t really call me a fool), but I tried to go to spin class yesterday evening.  With my injured ankle.  For a workout that relies on putting all of your weight on your legs (if you do it right).

I thought it would be okay because I know that the Monday 5:30 class is taught by an instructor who I could only describe as boring.  You warm up (seated) for 2 whole songs, do seated hills for 5 mins at a time, then standing flats, then a standing hill, then a seated flat… really nothing fast paced or too challenging.  I know that you can make the workout as hard or as easy as you want it to be, but I get so frustrated with his music selection and lack of motivation that I’ve actually walked out of his class before.

Last night I was PRAYING that he’d be there.  Having not worked out since the day I hurt my ankle (April 9), I figured a nice easy spin class might be the way to break back into cardio.  Unfortunately I was unable to do any of the standing or third position drills, had to sit the entire time (and after about 40 minutes that got to be uncomfortable), and just got more and more frustrated.  Several times I tried to stand for a few seconds to stretch out my legs, but my ankle started throbbing.

So now I’m back to square one.  Stupid me for trying to work out.  Stupid me for not walking out of the class the first time I felt pain.  Stupid stupid stupid ankle.

Now I get that motivational quote about working out because you’re able to.  I WISH I was able to.

When I’m stressed, I like to bake.  Having given up sugar for Lent, I haven’t been baking much at all, but I had some Granny Smith apples that were borderline overripe and put them to use in this recipe from Oh She Glows.  Mine was not vegan (because I included some light butter) but it was flourless.  I also used fewer strawberries, added some protein powder, and used some no sugar added granola as a quick topping.  I felt like I was cheating, but by using Splenda and sugar free maple syrup, it didn’t have any real added sugar.

image

Apple Strawberry Crisp

3 large apples (the size of softballs), diced (I left the skins on)

1/4 c strawberries, diced

1/4 cup granulated Splenda

1 Tbsp cinnamon

1 Tbsp lemon juice

1 Tbsp corn starch

1 scoop protein powder (I used French Vanilla Designer Whey), 3/4 for filling, 1/4 for topping

3 Tbsp sugar free maple syrup (2 for filling, 1 for topping)

3/4 cup granola

2 Tbsp melted butter or oil

1 Tbsp milk (I used coconut)

1) Combine all ingredients up to granola and set aside.

2) Add melted butter, reserved maple syrup, reserved protein powder and milk to granola. 

3) Spray a long shallow baking dish with cooking spray, then add apple mixture.  Top with clumps of granola mixture.

4) Cover and bake at 400 degrees for 30-40 minutes (I baked it for 30 on the convection setting).

image

Approximate nutrition (1/8 of recipe): 190 calories, 2 g fat, 28 g carbs, 5g protein

The kitchen smelled excellent while this was baking!  It improved my mood after my frustrating work out attempt.  I guess I’ll be sticking with upper body and ab workouts for a while longer.

Since I can’t run right now or anytime soon, I’m living through other bloggers’ running stories.  One of my favorites, Alyssa, is participating in Zero: The Project to End Prostate Cancer.  This is a cause near and dear to her heart (mine too).  Please consider donating and support her running of the Marine Corps Half Marathon in October.  It’s a great cause!

xox

C

9 responses to “Frustration

  1. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) April 19, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Aww, I hope you get back to running soon! I know it’s SO frustrating to mentally want to work out so badly, but your body isn’t allowing it. You’re smart to know that your ankle needs rest, and smart that you stop when it’s hurting. Wishing you a speedy recovery! 🙂

  2. Natalia - a side of simple April 19, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    Hi Claire! Thanks so much for your kind words on my blog 🙂 I’m so happy to have found yours, too! I’m really sorry about your ankle trouble, I can totally relate to that mentality of wanting to workout so badly and the body just rejecting it because of an injury. I’ll be keeping you in my prayers and who knows, maybe with it being Easter soon and all you’ll get a little extra attention 🙂

  3. Presley April 20, 2011 at 1:35 am

    Sorry to here that your ankle is still causing you trouble! I hope it heals up quickly and without too much pain… I know how terrible it is to have to wait for your body to heal. Think of it as an opportunity to care for yourself in other ways for a while! Spa day, maybe?! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Reformed Cardio Junkie | Sprint 2 the Table

  5. Pingback: To Whom It May Concern… « Live and Love to Eat

  6. Pingback: Thinking About It Thursday « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a comment