Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

The Perfect Low Fat Granola

You know how I raved about the pumpkin spice granola I made a few weeks ago?  I said it was granola perfection.

I lied.

THIS is granola, perfected.

My two favorite granola flavors are Love Grown’s Sweet Cranberry Pecan and Nuts About Granola’s Warrior Crunch.  I love Love Grown’s combination of craisins and salty pecans and Warrior Crunch’s dried cherries, cranberries, and chocolate chips – most of all, I like the really intense cinnamon and nutmeg spice.  I cut the calories by balancing out the calorically dense oats with puffed millet and puffed brown rice.  I also decreased the amount of sweetener in this batch, substituted coconut oil for the sunflower seed butter, and used almond milk and an egg to help bind it into clusters (the more clusters, the better!).  I threw in some cocoa nibs to mimic the chocolate chips.

I could not have been happier with the result!

Claire’s Perfect Cinnamon Spice Granola

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup puffed millet
  • 1 cup puffed brown rice
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries/craisins
  • 1/3 cup pecans, toasted & chopped
  • 2 Tbsp cocoa nibs
  • 2 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup brown rice syrup
  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tbsp almond milk
  • 5 drops vanilla stevia
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix dry ingredients until combined.
  3. Combine wet ingredients until homogeneous.
  4. Gently stir syrup mixture into dry ingredients, coating well.
  5. Spread into a single layer on a parchment (or silpat) lined baking sheet, and press into clumps/clusters.
  6. Bake for 30 minutes, gently flipping in sections every 10 minutes (use a spatula to not disturb the clusters).
  7. Let cool (or try to) and store in an airtight container.

Approximate nutrition information (per 1/4 cup serving): 120 calories, 5 g fat, 16 g carbs, 3 grams protein

Tips: the dry ingredients aren’t too crucial – as long as you start out with a base of about 3 cups of dry cereal, you’ll be fine.  Substitute any dried fruit you’d like for the craisins – cherries would be delicious!  The cocoa nibs don’t taste quite like real chocolate so don’t waste your money unless you like a really bitter cocoa flavor.  Any kind of oil can be subbed for coconut, I’m just trying to use it up!

I made this batch on Saturday (mentioned in my weekend recap post) and it’s officially gone.  Just that good.  It’s been  mostly eaten by the handful, but it’s also delicious on top of yogurt or oats.

It would be great paired up with Chobani – don’t forget to enter my giveaway by Friday!  You can win 12 Chobanis of your choice!

What is your very favorite flavor of granola?  Which brands would you combine for your perfect flavor?

26 responses to “The Perfect Low Fat Granola

  1. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean January 12, 2012 at 8:20 am

    sounds delightful. i just made granola last night too! love that you use puffed cereal. i used that in my granola bars but not just regular granola for some reason. and i use brown rice syrup too!!

  2. In Sweetness and In Health January 12, 2012 at 8:29 am

    Oh my goodness that sounds absolutely delicious!! That is such a good idea to use puffed cereal. I love granola but always hate how many calories are in it because I like to eat a lot of it haha.

  3. peaceloveandoats January 12, 2012 at 8:48 am

    I’ve actually only tried the Feel Good’s gluten free granola. I tend to avoid it because I eat it like cereal!

  4. sprint2thetable January 12, 2012 at 8:53 am

    I like the cacao nibs and coconut oil in this! I was just thinking iI need to make a granola to have around. The problem with homemade granola it that it’s mysteriously GONE in 2-3 days. 😉

  5. Newly Wife Healthy Life January 12, 2012 at 9:07 am

    Looks so good! Any granola with pecans is a favorite in my book! My mom also makes an amazing granola with oats, pecans, walnuts, dried cherries, sunflower seeds, brown sugar, real maple syrup and a little butter! Obviously not the most healthy ever, but it totally reminds me of my childhood whenever I smell it baking in the oven! My grandma passed it on to her and it was a popular snack in our house that was served with milk. Now, we consider it dessert 🙂

  6. stephsnacks January 12, 2012 at 9:38 am

    Ohh this looks awesome! Yum! Great addition to my yogurt in the morning 🙂

  7. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers January 12, 2012 at 10:20 am

    I bet this is great. Now if only I can make some without burning it…

  8. Alexa @ Simple Eats January 12, 2012 at 11:30 am

    Peanut butter will always win in the granola category for me!

  9. janetha January 12, 2012 at 11:55 am

    Looks great! I love bulking up granola with puffed cereals like you did here. My friend, Deb, dubbed it “fauxnola” haha

  10. teabagginit January 12, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    wow, this granola looks great – and i totally agree that the more clusters the better! i can’t stand it when “granola” is just toasted oats – that’s not granola! 🙂

  11. runningaroundnormalPaige @RAN January 12, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    I hadn’t ever thought about adding millet to granola! Wish I had some at my desk right now (granola, that is.)

  12. Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries January 12, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    this sounds delicious!! i love the nutritional stats on it too. i totally agree – Love Grown Foods sweet cranberry pecan is one of my favorite granolas. it’s so addicting and i love the flavors together.

  13. char on a mission January 12, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    I love a good granola!! It’s always nice when you hit it spot on too! I honestly haven’t made granola in about 4 months. Maybe if I made some it would get me off of eating toast every morning! haha

  14. allieksmith January 12, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    I love Chobani + granola! Well I did until I developed lactose issues! Your granola sounds superb!

  15. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate January 12, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    This looks great! I actually have a granola recipe going up tomorrow 🙂

  16. karinacocina17 January 12, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    this looks great! i have had puffed millet sitting in my pantry for over a month now because I don’t know what to do with it. i might just have to put it to use in this recipe 🙂

  17. Savannah @ Sweet and Savvy January 12, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    Oh man this looks delicious! 🙂 I have never made granola… but after this recipe, I believe that might change!

    Where do you get your puffed millet and puffed rice? I have only seen Arrowhead Mills brand at my local Big Lots, but it is not there all the time. I’m really looking to get my hands on some Puffed Rice… but I cannot find ANY! 😦

  18. Baking Serendipity January 12, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    Granola disappears so quick in my house! I love how easy it is to tweak the recipe and make a different version each time 🙂 Yours looks fantastic!

  19. beti January 12, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    the addition of millet and brown rice sounds quite interesting but the granola definetly looks delicious

  20. Jamie Walker January 13, 2012 at 12:08 am

    I’m vanilla almond all the way…delicious! Love granola, especially homemade.

  21. Pingback: Roasted Vegetables with Farro and Kale « Live and Love to Eat

  22. Patty January 13, 2012 at 11:46 pm

    Yessss I’ve been searching for low fat granola!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  23. Pingback: Miscellaneous Monday « Live and Love to Eat

  24. Pingback: Restaurant Week WIAW « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a comment