Live and Love to Eat

Just another WordPress.com site

Plum And Apple Crisp

I couldn’t pass up a great deal on 2lbs of plums at Aldi.  They took forever to ripen, and then all of a sudden were over ripe! 

I wanted to make a cobbler, but only 2 were salvagable – so I added a chopped green apple to the mix.

image

I wasn’t in the mood for the dough-y topping of a cobbler, so I opted for a crisp instead.

image

Healthified, of course.  The filling was simply:

the chopped fruit (about 3 cups – you could use peaches, apples, berries – anything your heart desires)

1 tsp cinnamon 

1/4 cup NuNaturals Stevia More Fiber Baking Blend (NSMFBB  – you could sub 1/3 cup sugar + 1 Tbsp flour for a similar result)

The topping consisted of:

1/3 cup oats

1 egg white

1 tsp cinnamon

2 Tbsp NSMFBB (sub 1/4 cup sugar + 1 Tbsp flour)

image

With a traditional “crisp” topping, you’d typically cut some very cold butter into the floury mixture.  Instead I used 1.5 of a light butter spread that I sprinkled all over the top.

image

My plums were SO overripe and juicy that the fruit layer became quite syrupy, but still delicious.

image

Approximate nutrition (1/6 of recipe): 105 calories, 2 grams fat, 1 gram protein, 24 grams carbs

I thought I’d have it topped with greek yogurt, but used it instead as a topping FOR greek yogurt (and made an appearance at breakfast all week long).

image

Stirred in – sweet, delicious, and filling!

image

I thought about freezing my over ripe fruit, but always seem to bake with it instead! 

What do you do to avoid wasting extra ripe produce? Canning or using it in juice/smoothies are other great ideas!

26 responses to “Plum And Apple Crisp

  1. Sweet and Savvy September 20, 2011 at 10:32 am

    Yum! This looks great! 🙂 And getting a deal on plums is even better!

  2. Stephanie September 20, 2011 at 11:03 am

    Mmm, this looks lovely. Crisp > cobbler every day of the week and twice on sundays. I love that you made this healthy so that all the natural flavors could shine through. MM!
    I like to make butters and breads with my fruit to stop from wasting, or I’ll start going crazy with smoothies every morning (even when it’s freezing). I hate wasting fruit especially, there’s something so -wrong- about letting a perfect plum pass its prime and then abandoning it. It’s not its fault!! hahaa.

  3. sprint2thetable September 20, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    I love the crisp top! that juiciness looks incredible… and the fact that it’s not sugary make sit the perfect breakfast too. 🙂

  4. loftyappetite September 20, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    um, yum! this post just made me realize that it’s been way too long since I’ve gotten some delicious and cheap produce at Aldi… gotta go this weekend!

  5. Katie September 20, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    YUM! I have not had a yummy crisp in a loooooooong time! Looks so good!

    I hope your week is going great girl! xoxo

  6. Lisa ♥ Healthful Sense September 20, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    I love the idea of using ripe fruit to make cobbler greek yogurt!!
    I freeze overripe fruit and use in smoothies!!

  7. Kirstie @ Musings of a Happy Life September 20, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Too taken by how yummy your photos look. I generally freeze my extra produce to smoothie it. Boring, I know. But I use it at least!

  8. Melissa September 20, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    Ooh, that looks awesome! I love crisps!

    I always freeze produce that’s on the edge and then put it in smoothies. Not the most original thing in the world . . . I’d love to make it into a chutney or jam to put on an English muffin, though!

  9. Shanna, like Banana September 20, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Nothing says Fall like a good fruit crisp..nom!

    I usually bake with my overripe fruit..smoothies sometimes, but baking is more fun 😉

  10. Lara Matos September 20, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    This looks so yummy! perfect for fall and a nice change from apple pie! love it!

  11. MegSmith @ Cooking.In.College September 20, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Oh man I hate when fruit goes bad :-/ I have just started freezing fruit and am really enjoying some very exotic and flavorful smoothies. This crisp looks fantastic. Definitely using the topping recipe on my next crisp!

  12. Alexa @ Simple Eats September 20, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    Oh my gosh…what an awesome idea! I’d probably wind up picking at the warm crumble top and eating most of that first!

  13. lapiattini September 20, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Yum! I’m a big fan of crisps. I can’t wait to go apple picking to make them- now I’ll pair with pears (hehe) and have an even tastier version 🙂

  14. Sarah September 20, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    Mmm that looks delicious! I love how it’s been ‘healthified’ – it looks great!

  15. Haley @ Health Freak College Girl September 21, 2011 at 2:39 am

    this looks so good! to avoid wasting produce, i freeze it to put in smoothies 🙂 or sometime if i have extra peaches or apricots, i make some jam

  16. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats September 21, 2011 at 2:57 am

    I usually freeze it for smoothies or toppings to oatmeal (just let it thaw a bit first!) but that looks so good – a cobbler for 1!

  17. Jasline September 21, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    The crisp looks yummy! I love to freeze my blueberries, and use them to make blueberry muffins or blueberry pancakes!

  18. Pingback: Reformed Cardio Junkie | Sprint 2 the Table

  19. Pingback: Pumpkin Granola Perfection « Live and Love to Eat

Leave a comment